Christopher Horn's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 28 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christopher’s full profile.

Overview

  • 25 references 15 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 39, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Amateur photographer
  • Couple years of college
  • From Nazareth, PA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I've landed in Austin, TX at the end of summer ‘17 after a solid year of travel and plan on making a go of it here. I have zero regrets at this point and that feels pretty good.

I am an amateur photographer, musician, cook, and turkish coffee lover.
I laugh hard at myself, keep myself humble, and try to keep my love of muppets a secret. I enjoy the outdoors as as runner, cyclist, and hiker. I love a night of board games or home movies, or discussion around a campfire with a flask of scotch.

I make a mean breakfast of french toast, a stack of pancakes, fried potatoes, and/or tacos.

I know how glasses work. Like, really well. But, besides medically, I'm far from myopic.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I was recommended it by more than one person as a great way to travel and meet the world. That's how I got involved in the beginning. After participating in CS as a guest, I'm now paying that back by being a host in the city that welcomed me with open arms. I'm so happy to be able to share that same feeling with travelers as those of you have done with me. Meeting new faces and personalities is always a joy. Learning new cultures is icing on the cake. All of it allows me to grow academically and socially. I hope to be able to do the same for everyone I meet through CS.

There is no doubt in my mind that I will learn from all of you and I hope that I can teach some in return.

If you’ve managed to read my profile and want to request a couch, tell me the moniker I used to perform music under. Chances are very high I won’t accept unless you do so.

Interests

Photography. Mountains. Hiking and camping gear. Music (drummer by trade). Teaching optical theory. Home movies. Puppet shows. Goofing around with my nephews and niece.

  • animals
  • cats
  • dogs
  • photography
  • wine
  • beer
  • drinking
  • movies
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

As a musician, I love practically everything. I, at one point, performed under the moniker Yuhasz, and I still continue to write to this day. Austin has so much live music at its fingertips that you can catch a great show anytime.

I don't read too much. I did finished McCarthy’s Border Trilogy recently which was just remarkable. There is an enjoyment to reading that I can't deny, but I usually end up putting my time into other efforts.

Jurassic Park and the Blair Witch Project yearly. And American Movie. And a bunch of other great flicks. Movies are just simply fun to watch. I love a good documentary, especially about the human will, science, and history.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Quit my job, sold my car, packed a bag, and bought a one way ticket to Greece in March of '16. Completely altered my life with that trip and am happy with who I've found myself to be.

Teach, Learn, Share

I want to learn as much as possible. I truly believe that I am not capable of knowing everything, but I want to know a lot of skills well. At the end of all things.

I find myself quite capable of teaching someone how to have an eye for great photos and hilarious home movies. I'll put on a clinic about how to get frustrated when you're lost in cities, but how f-in incredible it is to get lost in the outdoors.

I want to share experiences and stories of previous travel locations and memories. I'd like to tell my own story of getting to Austin and how the CS community made it possible. I find the best stories aren't read, but heard from the mouths of the people who were there. They are always fascinating.

Remember those aforementioned breakfast items? I can teach you those.

What I Can Share with Hosts

An enjoyable stay and good company. A pair of hands in the kitchen. Some cash money for foods and drinks. An open and curious mind.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Croatia, Greece, Italy, Jamaica, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Slovenia, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Christopher’s full profile.

My Groups