Chris Vandenbosche's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 10 References 6 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Sign Language - American, Spanish
  • 33, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Gardener in my real life, customer service in finance for...
  • B.S. in Mass Communications and B.S. in Psychology from V...
  • From Pittsburgh PA will probably always be home
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find something to make me happy each day, even if that means doing nothing all day.

ABOUT ME

I was an au pair in Brussels while taking a year off after graduating from university. I spent half a year in New Zealand to learn how to farm organicly after my year in Belgium. I'm just enjoying my life in the mean time. I try to travel when I get some spare time and Couch surfing has really changed the way I travel.

PHILOSOPHY

“Try not to become a man of success but rather try to become a man of value.”
I think Einstein said that...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

My fellow couch surfers usually know all the cool stuff to do in town so I tag along, grateful for their expertise, and do try to be the best company I can be. I've been really humbled by the generous hosts I've been lucky enough to stay with.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I got into this because a friend brought me to a local CS meeting in Brussels. Since then we've surfed together in a few different cities. They all happened to be cities that I've been to before but the different experience between couch surfing and staying in a hotel or hostel is pretty astounding.
My favorite part is going with my host to their favorite pub.

Interests

Crafting
Gardening
Seed saving (a new hobby of mine)

  • pub crawls
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • au-pair

Music, Movies, and Books

I love most all books and movies. Let's see, I'm reading John Steinbeck, Diana Gabaldon, Herman Hesse, H.G. Wells, Lewis Carroll, Stephanie Meyer, J.K. Rowling and Rudyard Kipling. As you can tell I sometimes have several books strewn about me in no particular order. Aside from that, you can give me just about any movie under the sun and I'm sure to love it for one reason or another.
My music tends towards the more folksy stuff and rock from the 70s 80s and 90s.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I took my first big bike tour from Pennsylvania to DC. We rode on the Great Allegheny Passage and the C&O Canal. It took 7 days to make our way down traveling between 25 and 70 miles a day depending on terrain. I'd love to do that again this year.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, France, Germany, Ireland, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Peru, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, New Zealand, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris’s full profile. It’s free!