Simona Cibulková's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 16 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Simona’s full profile.

Overview

  • 29 references 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Czech, English; learning English, French, German, Greek (modern), Italian, Spanish
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • travel agent, anthropologist
  • Anthropology, Tourism and Economy
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am an easy-going girl who loves traveling, meeting new people, and also freedom, independence, creativity, adventure, and excitement. I enjoy exploring the world and observing its diversity, viewing things from the perspectives of different countries, and knowing what people are interested in. Further, I enjoy nature in its many forms, from wandering through its beauty to thinking about maintaining a sustainable coexistence between man and nature. I like to live my life less ordinary.

After studying Tourism Management at university, I decided to verify my newly acquired knowledge in real life, so I arranged for a visa, bought a ticket, and went up to the world. I spent almost two years time in New Zealand, Fiji, Samoa, South Korea, Canada, Alaska, Puerto Rico, and the British Virgin Islands from where I sailed as a part of a yacht crew to France via the Azores. After I came back to the Czech Republic I started to study again (Anthropology this time) which I am very interested in. I spent part of my studies at the University of Kent in Canterbury (England) and at the Universität Wien (Austria) and now I am back in the Czech Republic for some time.

I am interested in seeing new and different points of view and ways of life. I consider myself to be quite calm. Although I'm not much of a party girl, a glass of red wine with good company is enjoyable to me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think the best part of traveling is meeting new people and experiencing different cultures. I want to do more than just be a tourist. Another thing I enjoy is learning new languages.

IMPORTANT:
Couchsurfing is not a dating platform! :) ...so... no thanks!

Interests

I like especially sports when you can feel the peace, wind, and sun - yachting, hiking the mountains, but also exploring caves, rock climbing, birdwatching... Generally, I can enjoy everything. I love to look for possibilities and make my dreams come true :)

Furthermore, I am very interested in learning about naturopathy, ethnopharmacology, health and diseases, nutrition, and food preparation.

You can find me here too: https://www.instagram.com/cibcabka/

Music, Movies, and Books

When it comes to music, I especially enjoy American 60's, and 70's. In movies, I like Woody Allen.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Generally, I consider every day to be a new amazing adventure.

Teach, Learn, Share

As a Couchsurfing guest, I will love to cook something Czech for you.

While travelling it's good to have installed the app Maps.me on your phone, it can be very handy.
For the Czech Republic (or Europe) I recommend also Mapy.cz. For transportation, you can use http://jizdnirady.idnes.cz/vlakyautobusymhdvse/spojeni/. If you want to buy some guide book, the Rough Guide to Eastern Europe (except we don't feel like being part of Eastern Europe) is not bad at all (I used to like LP but now I find it quite commercial). You can find a map with ideas about things to do at www.kudyznudy .cz. And check this hilarious video out https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=-kaF6SnSEo8.

If you want to experience some local dishes and there is nobody around being able to cook for/with you, you may want to try https://www.eatwith.com/.

Tips for Rakovník area:

In the summer you can take Kolešovka steam train to check local beauties, it's running on Saturday http://kolesovka.eu/parni_vlaky_17/. You should definitely taste some beer and walk around hops fields. For a brewery tour, you can visit Krusovice brewery which is nearby http://www.czechtourism.com/c/krusovice-brewery/. They have good tap Pilsner beer in Restaurace u Barona (Olešná u Rakovníka), there is also some accommodation http://www.ubarona.ic.cz/ubytovani.html. In Rakovník you can find good food at Šalanda https://www.restauracesalanda.cz/cs/salanda/rakovnik/#daily-meals.

Tips for Prague:

When visiting Prague, don't forget to check Use-it map, it shows you where locals go for a beer or food and other places which worths for visit. Also which souvenirs you can buy in case if you want to buy some. It's not a commercial map and it's made by a non-profit organization. They have also maps for other Czech and European towns.

Links: http://use-it.travel/home, https://itunes.apple.com/be/app/use-it/id966475921?mt=8&at=&ct=, http://use-it.cz/en/

If you want to go to the bar I recommend you to visit Cross Club in the Holešovice quarter.

Link: http://www.crossclub.cz/en/contact/

For food I recommend you my favourite canteen called Lidová jídelna Těšnov near Florenc (Těšnov 1163/5, Prague 1), there is usually a line of people waiting for lunches. Another one is Havelská koruna (Havelská 501/23, Prague 1) and if you like Vietnamese food, there is a good restaurant at Náměstí Jiřího z Poděbrad (Slavíkova 1, Prague 2). We have a large Vietnamese community living in the Czech Republic so the Asians you will meet in streets/shops are mostly Vietnamese. I like also the surroundings of this area, nice to walk. If you can eat gluten, they make delicious apple, poppy seeds and quark strudels here http://www.strudl-zizkov.cz (Jeseniova 29, Prague 3). You can buy one of the best bread in your life at Bakery Praktika https://www.tripadvisor.cz/Restaurant_Review-g274707-d10068657-Reviews-Pekarna_Praktika-Prague_Bohemia.html or you can try delicious rye bread from Mr Koláček at health food stores (such as Country life health food shops).
There is a good fancy place for delicious brunch at Vinohrady quarter, it's called DorukyDrink https://www.facebook.com/DorukyDrink/.

For a good view, you can take a cabin lift to Petřín (you can use the same ticket as for public transport) or go to Vítkov hill / Parukářka hill. Definitely, an awesome place is Vyšehrad in the sunset.

You can also check out the art of David Cerny, it's an interesting stuff http://www.emploom.com/david-cerny-prague-sculpture-guide/.

Other places worth visiting are Lennon Wall, Petřín with a cable car, Riegrovy sady for chillout, Náplavka for an evening walk, concerts at Střelecký Ostrov, National Theatre and State Opera for some Czech plays and operas, St. Vitus Cathedral and Prague Castle, Old Town Square, Charles Bridge, Municipal House, Prague ZOO or Botanical Garden in Troja.

Here are some tips: https://www.buzzfeed.com/alisonvingiano/pictures-of-czech-republic?sub=3066832_2583499&utm_term=.yyMlN82k8#.uxozKwVDw

If you have more time, visit also other towns like Český Krumlov or Plzeň for a real Pilsner brewery tour.

Here are some other tips: https://www.facebook.com/HonestPragueGuide/?__tn__=KH-R&eid=ARA4x-SZ4OlWH5pmIYaYehoe0LhiWBxtVqQ2kKgiRaKYxInZNpZxOHv7fphjcqNWHW0T3fsIWwQybveU&fref=mentions, http://www.justapack.com/day-trips-from-prague/ and info about life here from expat's view http://www.halfthisworldaway.com/2016/09/13/10-things-no-one-told-me-about-living-in-the-czech-republic/
and https://carminerodi.wordpress.com/2016/11/18/10-things-i-wish-someone-told-me-before-i-moved-to-prague/

Enjoy Couchsurfing! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ncbx87EVH2c

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, England, Fiji, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Samoa, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Czech Republic, England, New Zealand, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Simona’s full profile.

My Groups