Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Alicia’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 5 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • wildlife rehabilitator/biologist
  • marine biology/bat biology
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Vegan queer living on the west coast! I'm from Northern Ontario, and love hiking, biking, knitting and baking. I have a beautiful dog pal named Jake, who goes almost everywhere with me.

I used to live in Guelph, where I studied marine and freshwater biology, and philosophy. Each summer I would return up north and work at a wildlife rehabilitation centre. After my degree, I moved to Salt Spring Island, BC to continue doing wildlife rehabilitation work, and had the opportunity to work with a new species: harbor seals! Then I moved to Halifax to do my masters, where I studied the social behaviour of little brown bats in Newfoundland. I coordinated the wildlife centre in Sudbury, Ontario for the past two years, and am now back on the west coast doing rehab work again.

"We must come to grief and regret anyway -- and I for one would rather regret the reality than its phantasm, knowledge than hope, the deed than the hesitation, true life and not mere sickly potentialities."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It's a great way to meet amazing folks! I have met some rad humans and have stayed in contact and bumped into them in other parts of the world, it's wonderful.

Interests

biking, hiking, kayaking, nature, veganism, body modification, gardening reading, biology, philosophy

  • animals
  • dogs
  • wildlife
  • cooking
  • baking
  • vegan
  • gardening
  • reading
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • biology

Music, Movies, and Books

music: folk punk, bluegrass, a wee bit of metal, and much more
movies - blue planet, planet earth
books - the secret life of bees, 1984, invisible monsters, intelligence in nature, jane eyre, the emotional lives of animals, possession, walden, anything by T.S. eliot, jane austen novels

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

watching our yearling moose calf gallop away after raising her from a 1 week old orphan!
watching our 60lbs harbour seals take off into the ocean after arriving as premature babies that were at half of the normal birth weight!
hiking up mount erskine on salt spring island, to arrive at a windy mountain top and have the pleasure of seeing two pairs of ravens and a pair of eagles circling above.

Teach, Learn, Share

I have some basic knitting skills, decent cooking skills, some botany identification skills, and wildlife knowledge

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am alright at cooking, and I'm great at doing dishes! I can share stories about animals! And I am great company for a hike!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Costa Rica, Puerto Rico

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Alicia’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups