Claire H's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 25 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Claire’s full profile.


  • 19 references 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Learning Chinese (Simplified)
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2018
  • Software Developer
  • B.A. in Graphic Design, B.S. in Computer Science
  • From Jackson, MS, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hosting for short term stays only. Please only message if you are verified and/or have references.


For some reason, my profile shows up as a host all over the world (see this album: I have contacted support and they are working on it but there's nothing I can do. Please confirm location before asking me to host. :(


I like concerts, video games, art, and animals :) I'm a big nerd, vegan, I read a lot of fantasy novels and online webcomics and webtoons haha. If you really want to get me going, talk to me about The Last of Us or Joe Abercrombie's First Law series. I'm also ashamed to admit I play a lot of league of legends hahaha. I live and host south of SLC!


**As a host, I only do last minute requests!!** I live a pretty spontaneous life and don't generally feel comfortable making plans more than 1-2 weeks in advance. I'm happy to make exceptions to this based on the person, so if that's something you need please engage with a message that clearly gives us something to talk about so I can get to know you before making a hosting commitment!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

When I travel I don't usually make plans--I just kinda go! I'm here for the experience and the people. I tend to do things like buy tickets to a concert and go alone with the intention of making a friend in the area to bring with me, I've met some lifelong friends through couchsurfing already and am super happy to keep it up.


I raise rabbits and love them dearly, my buns are litterbox trained and enjoy the house similar to house cats do 😍 I foster care for them as well! I paint/draw, and play a lot of video games as well, overall a big nerd who likes to have a good time.

  • rabbits
  • concerts
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • nightlife
  • computer science
  • learning new things
  • social activism
  • programming
  • healthy lifestyle
  • concert

Music, Movies, and Books

Odesza, Purity Ring, Kendrick Lamar, Red Hot Chili Peppers

Been writing my own fantasy book so I've been on a fantasy TV/book binge. Joe Abercrombie is my favorite by far, grimdark is my favorite genre.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I just got a Bachelor of Arts in Graphic Design and a Bachelor of Science in Computer Science, magna cum laude, in the time it takes most people to get only one degree! 😊😊 I'm most proud of my thesis. Title: "Classifying #MeToo Hash-tagged Tweets by Semantics to Understand the Extent of Sexual Harassment." Thesis was written in Python and involves a program that can identify the type of sexual harassment expressed in tweets using the hash-tag "#MeToo." This thesis additionally includes a literature review of the history of sexual harassment, shortcomings in the legal system with regards to recourse for victims of sexual harassment/assault, and a review of the same for social media. ✌️

Teach, Learn, Share

I would be surprised if you have ever met someone who is more knowledgeable about bunny rabbits! I run a small local rescue, organize fosters (70-100 rabbits) and usually have anywhere from 4-10 bunnies at my house at any given time. I'm also a volunteer high school teacher and teach introductory programming to underprivileged high schools (remote), and would be happy to teach/help with anything you're interested in :)

As far as learning goes--I'm most interested in learning Chinese (Mandarin) and cooking authentic Chinese dishes. I had a Chinese partner for almost 8 years and used to be fluent, but stopped speaking when we separated and I've lost most of it. I'm on a 200 day duolingo streak and am looking to get my proficiency back before one day traveling back to China!

I'm also an artist, although I haven't done too much art since joining the professional world. Can always teach basics, paint together, that sort of thing. One day I'd like to quit my job in the corporate life and make my own comic :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Besides good conversation and the fact that I will be the most low maintenance guest I possibly can be, I can probably help you with any technology issues you're having, art related stuff, or just good conversation 😂

Countries I’ve Visited

China, England, France, Ireland, Northern Ireland, Scotland

Countries I’ve Lived In


Join Couchsurfing to see Claire’s full profile.