Claire Jarvis's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Claire’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • "International Chemist and Adventurer"
  • Up to Masters-level in Chemistry. Looking to get a PhD so...
  • From Crail, (near St Andrews), Scotland.
  • Profile 90% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Get myself onto a Chemistry PhD program.

ABOUT ME

My friends usually describe me as a busy person - I fit in a lot of hobbies, travelling and activities around my work and study.

You're welcome to read my blog over at http://www.standrewslynx.wordpress.com

PHILOSOPHY

I call myself a secular humanist. I'm generally very liberal and open-minded.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

At present I don't have a couch to offer, though when I find myself a stable location that will certainly change. I also intend to use CouchSurfing as a way to meet people when I travel.

Interests

I spend far too much time online! However, my ACTUAL hobbies include long-distance running, hiking, travelling to new places, dancing (ballroom, swing, bellydance...) and drinking tea.
You can talk to people via Facebook all you want, but I believe that nothing can ever compare to a long afternoon in a coffee shop spent catching up with a good friend.

  • dancing
  • coffee
  • running
  • walking
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • shopping
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • blogging
  • hiking
  • chemistry
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: heavy metal, rock and over-the-top 80s power ballads (though I listen to most stuff).
Books: like all good nerds I love Terry Pratchett's Discworld novels, but again, I read most stuff. I love browsing other people's bookshelves.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1. When I got up close to the bottom of Niagara Falls on the rickety Hurricane Deck: that left me breathless.
2. When I went to Portland (Oregon)'s Japanese Garden and took part in the tea ceremony. I spent over 5 hours in that garden over the course of a weekend - it was just so peaceful.
3. Walking around Zurich at night and admiring the illuminated Old Town.

Teach, Learn, Share

I reckon I could help people out with their science homework...

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Czech Republic, Germany, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Switzerland, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Claire’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups