Logo orange

Clare Wolfe

Seattle, WA, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Clare's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 12 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Hindi
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • free agent
  • University
  • From Sleepy Hollow, NY, USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Find that thing I'm scared to do, and do it!

ABOUT ME

Time for a change! I just quit my job and uprooted my life in NYC to see what else life has to offer. Currently I'm in Australia, where people are super friendly!

As far as personality goes, I'm pretty quiet and easy going. Meeting new people is a huge thrill, and laughing is food for the soul. I'm really interested in how people become who they are, as individuals and a society, so a good conversation can make my whole day!

Things I love: good story-telling, color & design, history, and food. OMG food!

Favorite destination (so far): Antarctica!

PHILOSOPHY

If you talk to a man in a language he understands, that goes to his head. If you talk to him in his language, that goes to his heart --Nelson Mandela

An eye for eye only ends up making the whole world blind. --Gandhi

It may be true that the law cannot make a man love me, but it can keep him from lynching me, and I think that's pretty important. --MLK

An individual who breaks a law that conscience tells him is unjust, and who willingly accepts the penalty of imprisonment in order to arouse the conscience of the community over its injustice, is in reality expressing the highest respect for the law. --MLK

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I've surfed in the US, Belgium, and Australia. Can't wait to host!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I started out surfing with Jamie for a few days back in 2009 and had such a fantastic experience that I was hooked! Recently I couchsurfed all over Australia during a 6 month trip.

Can't wait to start hosting!

Interests

Plants! Love them; always keen to learn how not to kill them. Getting more into permaculture.

HOUSES! Can't wait to build my own tiny house out of cob and/or strawbale. I love anything to do with home design, renovations, cosmetic improvements, etc.

History: is one big story. Enough said!

Art: I like to doodle. I like to paint. I like to fool around in photoshop and indesign. I like fooling around in a darkroom. Not super skilled in anything, but that doesn't matter! Art brings me joy and calms my mind. I *can* do your henna though!

Letter writing: I write letters like it was still the 1800s. I write them short, I write them long. I write them to procrastinate, and to pass the empty time. I love writing letters. I get depressed when I exhaust my to-write list, and need to wait for replies.

Crappy Fantasy/YA/Cartoons: Everyone has guilty pleasures, these are mine.

Music, Movies & Books

Books: His Dark Materials, John Adams, The Portrait of a Lady, Lolita, Heart of Darkness, In The Night Garden..., The Time Traveler's Wife, Lord of the Rings, Mists of Avalon, The Far Pavilions, The Things They Carried, The Scarlet Letter, Jane Eyre, To Say Nothing of the Dog, Jane Austen, anything by Neil Gaiman, CS Lewis, Tolkien, Patricia McKillip, Robin McKinley, Anne McCaffrey. Basically any genre, with a special affection for fantasy

Movies: anything by Disney (animated), Pixar, or Miyazaki. Action adventure epics, such as old Star Wars, Indiana Jones, James Bond, LOTR, Narnia. Don't like gruesome.

Music: Metric, Wolfsheim, Dandy Warhols, Broadway musicals, Nightmare before Christmas, Keane, Bhangra and Bollywood, Imogen Heap, Cobra Starship, Simon & Garfunkel, Amici Forever, Chili Peppers, Coldplay, Billy Joel, Amir Diab, Goya, Aretha Franklin, Ella Fitzgerald, Dido...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

-For four years I participated in the most amazing, outrageous, and biggest scavenger hunt in the States. For four days in May, all the social barriers fell away and we could do anything together!

-The stunning scope of Antarctica. There are no words.

-Taking care of orphaned kangaroo joeys in Australia.

Teach, Learn, Share

Happy to teach you how to draw henna!

Please teach me how to keep plants better and build a house?

I would *love* to learn more about whatever you're passionate about. I like to get my hands dirty so please please show me how you paint, or sculpt, or train dogs, or do yoga, etc. There's so much I want to know!

Countries I've Visited

Antarctica, Argentina, Australia, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, Tanzania, United Republic of, Thailand, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

France, India, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Clare's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile