Clare Osborn's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Clare’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 40, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Solicitor (but not ya average lawyer!)
  • Sociology BA Hons, Law PGDL / LPC
  • From Brighton, England
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To seek out new experiences and challenges

ABOUT ME

I love to travel and am currently on a worldwide trip which has so far seen mein South East Asia for 6 months, New Zealand for 5 weeks and we landed in Mexico in Feb and are working our way south. At home I love the outdoors and nature and chilling out. I like to party although as I head into my mid 30s that takes more of a backburner as I apprieciate more the quieter things in life. I love my friends and my family and think its important to look out for those around you at all times. I'm pretty sociable and love to dance. I live to travel and want to see as much of the world as possible.

PHILOSOPHY

The Meaning of Life:Well, it's nothing special. Try and be nice to people, avoid eating fat, read a good book every now and then, get some walking in and try and live together in peace and harmony with people of all creeds and nations.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I'd be happy to show folk around Brighton when I get back there or meet for a coffee with some suggestions of places to go. To talk about other places I have been and give any tips I can about them.

I'd love to meet fellow CS in places I visit to see a side of places that I might not otherwise see, get off the backpacker trail and get a real immersion experience into local culture. We're also on the hunt for volunteering prospects on our trip.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been in email contact with quite a few CS's re Brighton and short trips we have done in Europe, we are now on the look out for my first couchsurfing experience in Latin America :-) I am travelling with my boyfriend Will Pavely who has been couchsurfing around Eastern Europe.

Interests

Learning Spanish, Scuba diving, Wakeboarding, Photography, Dancing, Countryside walks, Swimming, Yoga.

  • fish
  • culture
  • books
  • photography
  • dancing
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • walking
  • partying
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • scuba diving
  • wakeboarding
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Siddartha, The Old Man and the Sea, The Long Walk, The Alchemist, The Pilgrimmage, Veronica Decides to Die, The Zahir, Off the Rails in Phenom Penh, Not Without My Daughter, Do They Hear When You Cry, Daughters of Arabia, A Thousand Splendid Suns, The Princess, The Sorrow of War, The Painted House... the list goes on, currently working my way through Lee Child's Jack Reacher books when I can find them.

Movies: A huge array of arthouse, comedy, chick flicks, blockbusters etc... too many to list to vast a variety to describe

Music: Jazz, Funk, Folk, Reggae, Latin, Hip-hop, Breaks, Electro and a whole array of other stuff. Basically as long as its not too cheesy or heavy metal then i'll probably like it. oh and Nick Harper....

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

1) Climbed up 5200 steps through the night in Sri Lanka to the top of Adams Peak on a buddhist pilgrimage to watch the sun rise.
2) Tongarriro Crossing in New Zealand
3) Diving Sipadan and Komodo Islands (with Manta Rays n sharks!!)
4) Volunteering in a School in Phnom Penh Cambodia
5) Heli Hike Franz Josef Glacier New Zealand
6) Snorkelling with 'the Fish Whisperer' Belize
7) Staying with an Akha Hill Tribe in Northern Thailand
8) Climbing Gunung Ijen Volcano in Indonesia

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to learn new skills so open to any suggestions :-)

Countries I’ve Visited

Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Cambodia, Croatia, Egypt, France, Guatemala, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Poland, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brunei Darussalam, Netherlands, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Clare’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups