Logo orange

Clayton Anderson

Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

Accepting Guests

66% response rate · Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Clayton's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 31 Positive References
  • Fluent in English
  • 53, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • photographer (entertainment), enviro...
  • various university, college and grad...
  • From rural British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

each day I try to make the world a better place because I was there

ABOUT ME

I love meeting people and using my knowledge and connections to make other people's lives more fun or more rewarding.

In Vancouver most people know me as a photographer in the entertainment and events field specializing in live performance photography. Elsewhere people know me as an environonmental consultant specializing in aquatic habitat protection, restoration and enhancement (streams and wetlands and adjacent forested areas) and erosion and sediment control, and as an educator teaching and speaking on stream sciences and soil bioengineering topics. I teach regularly at Portland State University in Portland, Oregon, USA and have lectured or taught at other Universities in Canada and the USA. I regularly speak at conferences, seminars and workshops throughout western Canada and USA and occasionally further afield, even into Europe.

My education includes college, technical institute, University undergraduate, professional development and graduate programs. I have completed graduate studies programs in Integrated watershed management, river restoration, and wetlands. College and university courses concentrated on biological and physical geography courses and technical institute programs and courses included civil and environmental engineering and business management.

I am single with no kids and no bitter ex and I love my life.

PHILOSOPHY

I try to leave the world a better place every day I'm in it.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have loads of room to host and average more than one guest per day since joining CS. I am involved in the hospitality and entertainment and party industry in Greater Vancouver and so can provide info on events and things happening around town (in postings or in responses to questions). I can often arrange for venues for events, or guest-lists for people. I am out most nights and am always up for company at reastaurants, lounges, bars and clubs. I travel a lot (by driving) in southern BC and the Pacific Northwest and so can offer rides. I know and love and regularly visit many of the beautiful areas and parks around Greater Vancouver so can often meet for day-trips.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Between CS and other means I have hosted more than a couple hundred people in my home, some of them many times now. I have a day or event visits, overnights to surfers renting rooms for months. Since being involved I've hosted some great people at my home (up to fourteen at a time), I've hiked with surfers in regional parks, toured the Howe Sound coast by car and short hikes, toured people around Greater Vancouver, and the Point Grey beaches, picked people up and dropped people off at the ferries and bus / train station, taken people to clubs and pubs, and taken people up the Fraser Canyon and to Shuswap Lake. I've also been to and organized local meet-ups, hikes and group activities.

I am not new to this community or this lifestyle. I have traveled with people and met many people while traveling or who are traveling and many of the best experiences of my life have been through informal travels and random meetings. I've had many and varied surfing experiences with perhaps the most incredible being a week of intense touring Greece with a well-connected greek beaurocrat I met at the airport who's last name I never even learned (all in four star or better accomodation and in a luxury vehicle and costing me next to nothing). Most often more like giving a ride to visiting people who were asking directions at a local coffee shop who have since ended up at my place a couple times or having people join me for rides or to share my room while traveling.

Interests

hiking, snowshoeing, rock-climbing and many outdoor activities. I am a Meet-up organizer and lead hikes of an hour to a couple days at least once a week and organize rock climbing on local bluffs once a week.

live music of many different types (ranging from latin guitar or jazzy blues to persian, indian or greek pop, and from the newest DJ to Americana).

History.

Comedy.

good food and great martinis. Although I'll eat almost anything at almost any restaurant or when being fed a nice meal (and love sushi), I generally eat very little flour, sugar, or red meat, prefer non-processed foods and don't drink dairy milk or anything with caffiene or soda.

I don't drink beer, red wine or most hard liquors. I do like vodka, good white or green wines, bubbly and some fine sipping tequila or liquers.

I eat most of my meals out.

Music, Movies & Books

I am entertained by going out to numerous events each week and by the antics of friends that I see and hear about on Facebook.

I do not watch tv but do watch documentaries and movies and videos online.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

way too many to list or pick just one.

Countries I've Visited

Canada, Greece, Mexico, Portugal, Spain, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada

Join Couchsurfing to see Clayton's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile