Daniel Nguyen

Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French, German, Vietnamese; learning Dutch, Italian
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • a med stud's hard life
  • in the medical university of Vienna at the moment
  • From Bregenz, Vorarlberg, Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


as tacky as it sounds, I'm looking for cool mates from all over the world. Otherwise: world peace! *flashy smile*


me: a native Gsiberger (=from Vorarlberg/Western Austria) with roots in Vietnam, living currently in Vienna having a med stud's hard life - which I chose, so no playing on people's pity, folks! :) hopefully to become a neurologist/pathologist someday. otherwise, passionate about and addicted to music (pianist, singer, non official songwriter, composer) and the other usual stuff (swimming, cycling, rock climbing). curious by nature, doing experiments and trying out many things, especially when it comes to cooking!


You can't always get what you want.

That which is not normal works to define the normal.

You live, you learn ...

I don't like Mondays.

drop me a line if you know who I cited ;-)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


if you come to Vienna, I could show you some bits of the city as long as time and studies allow me.


still a newbie in that matter but I guess there'll be enough lessons to learn :) and hopefully good ones! however, I already had one CouchSurfing Experience as an "outsider": Vienna Calling 2011 in a late night jam session @replugged.


so many things - music's one major of them: hitting the keys, singing, jamming ...

Music, Movies, and Books

music: anything but construction work - Muse, Jamie Lidell, Minnie Riperton, Diana Krall, Claude Debussy, Damien Rice, Hot Pants Club, Alva Noto, Ryuichi Sakamoto - just to name a few.movies: mainly dramas, especially coming from European producers. not a fan of Hollywood blockbusters but rarely happens by accident. and everything in original sound, with subtitles when necessary. series:House M.D. but frankly only because I find Hugh Laurie cool. Scrubs: nothing like J.D. and Turk and their guy love! Star Trek, Voyager/X-Files: yeah, the good ol' 90s with their cheesiness.books: sadly, med books at the moment but currently trying to catch up my lack of literature. a small amount: The Prophet by Khalil Gibran, The Tibetian Book of Death by Sogyal Rimpoche, Homo Faber by Max Frisch, Se questo è un uomo by Primo Levi. recent book: the Gunseller by Hugh Laurie

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

getting in touch for the first time in my life with jazz music and improvisation during the intercultural workshop "Step into rythm" in Kokkola/Finland in 2004. playing the Blue Bossa with Algerian influences and jazzed-up Finnish folksongs is definitely a blast!singing and acting at the floating sea stage in my home town Bregenz during the Bregenzer Festspiele. playing a soldier, a gipsy, a seminarian and a prisonner, it was an incredible and unforgettable experience during 4 summers.

Teach, Learn, Share

you never stop learning for your entire life, so anything you'd like to share with me and get thrilled about, just show me! as for the languages I'm speaking at an expert level, I'll be happy to teach some things when asked, hopefully without playing the strict professor! if so, be straightforward ;-) while I'm still learning Dutch, so if anyone feels like it, teach me. I like to accompany people with the piano, whether it's the instrument or the voice. if someone likes to try things out or just wanna jam, don't hesitate unless we don't have a piano ... ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Liechtenstein, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, France, Germany, Netherlands, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups