Julie Makarova

Stockholm, Stockholms län, Sweden

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, Latvian, Russian; learning German, Swedish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • From Riga
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To explore and absorb the world around me.


Life is all about good or bad experiences, so i'm trying to take it all. I get inspired by new destinations and observing people, give me more.

I'd describe myself as a bookworm and open-minded philosopher.


Merak - serbian word for enjoying simple little things like apple picked from the tree, or coffee in the morning.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I go to social events, drink coffee, beer, and can show you around :)


Just a beginner


I'm collecting rare or old books, there is something about it. My reading interests are philosophy, religion, psychology. I also love watching dramas (scandinavian drama is something!), and listening to what my mood tells me, usually electro, indie, jazz, sometimes classical music. I love doing yoga. I enjoy open learning, self-study.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Coffee and Cigarettes, Wings of Desire, Oslo 31st, Deathproof, etc etc
Music: Foals, Radiohead, The National, E. Svensson Trio, Dead Can Dance, Erik Satie, The XX, The Knife, Blaudzun, etc
Books: Arch of Triumph, Shadows in Paradise by Remarque, Tender is the Night by Fitzgerald, Smilla's Sense of Snow by P. Hoeg, Venus in Furs by Mazoch, books about buddhism.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think amazing things are around us all the time, we just have to learn to recognize it.

Countries I’ve Visited

Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Lithuania, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Latvia, Norway

Join Couchsurfing to see Julie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups