Elie Abraham

Helsinki, Uusimaa, Finland

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Elie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 9
  • Fluent in English; learning Finnish, Hebrew (modern), Spanish
  • 26, Other
  • Member since 2011
  • Daycare caretaker / Sound and music designer
  • Indiana University--Bloomington
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a story-telling, music-making, game-playing, hug-giving, and animal-loving person who is all about learning and having experiences. But most importantly for a site like this: I love meeting people. I work with kids at a language immersion daycare and as a musician for media (both of which I love). I've done a lot of performing and love going to concerts/fests. I enjoy both going out/getting wild and staying in (which can also be wild :P ) and having fun (or just relaxing) without night life. Unique experiences excite me, so I'm all over it at mention of bungee jumping, escape rooms, abandoned buildings, and so on. I want to stay with hosts that are interested in getting to know me and have some laughs while we're at it : ) I'm very open, honest, straightforward, affectionate, and love talking to people. I can be pretty chatty, but I really appreciate people who don't mind silence. I'm big on philosophical puzzles and challenging my ideas and definitely opinionated when it comes to social matters, especially racism, sexism, LGBTQIA+ rights, animal welfare, and the like. I'm admittedly an artsy sort and particularly into a ton of different kinds of music and all kinds of visual art. I'm a hip-hop artist making punk/metal albums and music for children to sleep to. My more professional work has been background music for media (often ambient or electronic). I love learning new things and am fascinated by space, deep sea, how things work, new discoveries, and new technology. I love food, but am slow to try preparing foods I haven't made before (so, I'm very up for anyone who wants to teach me how to cook/bake, haha).

I currently live in Helsinki (Kallio/Sörnäinen) with three flatmates and I love it. This is a veg-friendly and queer-posi flat. We also have a sauna. A bit important: If I'm/you're hosting, please know that I am a vegan. Also, I love animals, but I'm a bit allergic to cats even though I love them too :_( I can still stay somewhere with cats (Thank you, pharmacies), I just thought you should know!

Obviously, my description doesn't say ALL about me as yours doesn't say all about you. Get in touch and we can get to know each other : )

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on CS because I don't understand why I would stay in a hotel/motel when a potential friend I could get to know would invite me into their home and give me the local experience so that I can feel like I've *actually* visited a given country. Of course, I want to extend this to people who visit my city too. I have surfed, hosted, and attended CS events. It has been fantastic and I'm eager to make more friends : )

Interests

Music, languages, tea, games, animals, dancing, thunderstorms, good drinks, random encounters with strangers, and many other things.

Music, Movies, and Books

Metal, jazz, electronic, punk, folk, funk, indie rock, hip-hop, orchestral, and others. It feels offensive to box massive genres into single words like "electronic," but listening subgenres (let alone artists) would be a lengthy mess. Just ask!

Inglourious Basterds, Black Dynamite, Drive, MirrorMask, Walk Hard, Casablanca, Super Troopers, The Fifth Element, Wristcutters: A Love Story, classic Disney films :)

Some enjoyed reads: Fire Next Time, American Gods, Flight series, Can a Robot Be Human?, Eating Animals, The Ethical Slut, and Shadow Over Innsmouth.

Stand-up comedians: Louis CK, Kumail Nanjiani, Hannibal Buress, Mitch Fatel, Aziz Ansari

Games: Awesomenauts, Bastion, Zelda, Mass Effect, Borderlands, Monkey Island, LIMBO, Hotline Miami, Terraria, Chrono Trigger

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I swam with a wild dolphin in Egypt.

I'm big on stories. You'll have to ask.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you a couple juggling tricks. How about we get together, discuss our talents, and then decide how to swap them? (Someone please teach me how to cook.)

You can expect me to ask you how to say things in your native language.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good times : )

Countries I’ve Visited

Croatia, Egypt, Estonia, Germany, Israel, Mexico, Poland, South Africa, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Finland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Elie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups