Lyle James's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lyle’s full profile.


  • 31 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian
  • 35, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Software Engineer / Artist
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Over ten years hosting and surfing. Really enjoyed making new friends and the experinces I've shared with them.
Like all good CS-ers, I love to travel and have new experiences, but what makes it is the people you meet.
If you feel the same way, I am sure we’ll get along.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe it’s the locals, not a guidebook, that allow you to really experience a place.


Open minded and easy going, life is too short not to try all the experiences it can offer you.
Wherever I go I always try to visit galleries and see live music. Enjoy chatting with a beer or glass of wine but love to go hiking, riding a bike or road tripping longer distances.

Of course, always taking photos with some dusty old camera that takes film which isn't made any more!

  • arts
  • writing
  • street art
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • movies
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • music
  • live music
  • outdoors
  • whisky

Music, Movies, and Books

Hugely varied taste in music although, I can’t play any instruments - yet!
Love to read and love cinema too.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spoke to Johnny Greenwood before he went on stage.
Rafted down the Franklin River in Tasmania.
Hitch Hiked from Germany to England - in one day.

I know that’s three things but whose cares.

Teach, Learn, Share

Having worked as a tour guide in both a distillery and a vineyard I can tell you a lot about wine and whisky.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Love to cook and share my experiences.
Obviously, if you invite me into your home, I will treat it with the utmost respect and follow your rules.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cuba, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Spain, Thailand, Ukraine, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Austria, New Zealand, Scotland

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Lyle’s full profile.