Connor Macandrew's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 15 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Connor’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 15 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 21, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Student
  • Third level
  • From Dublin, County Dublin, Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello fellow travellers :D
I am Connor from Ireland, I live in the small coastal town Rush, located in Co. Dublin. I am now in my third year of Environmental science, so half way done :D
I am a student, so I still live with my parents. I live every 2nd week at my mams house (where I host from) and then at my dads the next, for this reason I can only host two weeks in the month. I am fascinated by science, nature and space.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I hosted a guy I met online, he was travelling the world and had mentioned to me about CS. When I heard about it I joined straight away. This man was named Vincent McGovern, Thanks so much! (He's in my references, personal).

I think CS is a revolutionary app that allows people to avoid expensive accommodation but most importantly it enhances a trip, you get to experience the country through the eyes of a local and for this is why I use CS.

Interests

1) Trekking/hiking: I adore the outdoors, I especially love several day hikes incorporated with camping, it is a way for me to reconnect with the mother nature :D

2) kayaking: I own two sea kayaks, and living by the ocean I kayak a lot. If the ocean is calm enough I'd love to take you on a kayaking expedition around the cliffs!

3)Horticulture: In my dads house I own a polytunnell, so I grow a lot of fruits and vegetables. I've grown melons before which were delicious and got a high yield! Maybe, if you have the time we can visit Meath (dads house). :D

4) Travelling: Of course travelling is a must have interest if I'm to be on CS! I've been to Nepal, Belgium, Iceland and India alone and the other destinations were family holidays. I backpacked across Northern India for 5weeks :D

  • 1) hiking/trekking

Music, Movies, and Books

Books:
1)Great expectations
2) The girl with the dragon tattoo
3)oryx and crake

Movies:
My favourites are the shawshank redemption and the secret life of walter mitty.

Music:
Anything really except Heavy metal or metal music!!!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I tried to climb to mount everest Basecamp and reached 4200metres and had to have a rescue helicopter evacuate me off the mountain due to severe altitude sickness.

I walked from Dublin up to Northern Ireland along the east coast and had to sleep in a thunderstorm in just a sleeping bag in the villages harbour. I hitch hiked and walked the over 200km.

I did the wicklow way which is a 137km Hike from Dublin to Carlow across the Mountains, I slept on the trail, in childrens playgrounds and waking early to leave. Traded money for food with local growers. Tried to sleep on the set of a movie one night and got told to leave, I had to climb a nearly vertical mountain after just coming down it, atacked by midges!

I turned 21 under the Northern lights in Iceland, it was incredible!

Backpacked across northern India.

These are a few of the many amazing things I've done! I love and crave adventure!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'd llve to teach kayaking, it's very easy. I'd also love to hike with someone, but here there is no teaching involved, if you can walk then you've got this xD

I'd love to learn about peoples lives, travel stories and anything else they have to offer.

I can share my kindness, fun and other travel stories :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

I will share my company, time, stories and generosity. Please have fun :D

Countries I’ve Visited

England, France, Germany, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Nepal, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland

Join Couchsurfing to see Connor’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups