Connor Yocum's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Connor’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese (Simplified), Italian, Spanish
  • 24, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Architecture Student
  • Iowa State University
  • From IA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am studying architecture, which has a habit of turning university students into lifelong students by cultivating our curiosity. I'm currently living in Shanghai, China while studying at Tongji University. Recently I've spent 7 months traveling and studying in Europe (studying in Rome) and 6 months in Santiago, Chile. I have a conversational proficiency in Spanish, though wouldn't classify myself as fluent...yet.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Living in another country with a host family taught me that in order to truly take advantage of what a place has to offer, meeting the locals is the way to go. Rather than playing Whac-A-Mole on the metro, I prefer to experience a place by talking with the locals who can (in addition to recommending hidden gems) often explain cultural differences more easily than, say, a guide book.

Interests

I enjoy wandering to find hidden gems, exploring, and trying new food while traveling. When I'm able to, I enjoy rowing, hiking, and being outside.
Last, but not least, I lean toward the introverted end of the spectrum and appreciate time to recharge by reading or watching Netflix.

  • books
  • architecture
  • dining
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • rowing
  • tourism

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I spent two years carving a full-size canoe out of a tree.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, El Salvador, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, China, Italy, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Connor’s full profile. It’s free!