Courtney Wilcox's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login almost 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Courtney’s full profile.

Overview

  • 23 references 22 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2016
  • Lonely Traveler
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am originally from California but have lived in Utah since February 2017 and I love it here. I have had a fantastic and very privileged short life and really enjoy meeting, hosting and surfing with beautiful, eccentric people from all over the world. Highly introverted. Coffee roasteries, craft beer, hiking trails, live music, books, National Geographic, cooking new recipes with my cast iron or InstantPot and hosting dinner parties are current hobbies. I live in a suburb 25 minutes from the city so the ideal couchsurfer will have their own vehicle. I live about 1.5 miles from the nearest train station and right outside the nearest bus stop.

Bucket List Chief Ambitions -
Thru hike PCT (Mexico to Canada via California) - Climb Kilimanjaro (Tanzania) - Live in Australia for at least a year - Attend Burning Man (California) - Explore Patagonia on foot (Argentina/Chile) - Trek to Everest Base Camp (Nepal) - Ride Trans-Siberian Railway (Moscow to Beijing via Mongolia) - Cruise Antarctica

"To live is so startling it leaves little time for anything else" - E.Dickinson

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe in give and take with more giving than taking when in the position to do so. I've been a poor traveler who has relied on the good natured folk a la Couchsurfing and it is my pleasure to offer my home to fellow travelers brave enough to stay with strangers. I do not host locals.

I am a returned Peace Corps volunteer. Our lifelong responsibility after service is furthering intercultural relationships.

Please don't ask me about Donald Trump unless you are prepared for a SCATHING review of our commander in chief.

Interests

Existentialism, sustainability, Buddhist ideology, Marxism, humanity, agnostic theory, permaculture, progressivism

Music, Movies, and Books

John Mayer, Bon Iver, Novo Amor, Tash Sultana, Anderson East, Lake Street Dive, Elliot Root, Big Wild, Sylvan Esso

In addition to some classics on nearly everybody's list, I really enjoy the movie Sideways.

My favorite novel of all time is The Catcher in the Rye by Salinger though I don’t read fiction much anymore. I’m currently on a modern philosophy and business related self-help kick.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've completed a triathlon, climbed Yosemite's Half Dome, celebrated Mardi Gras in New Orleans 3 years in a row and St. Patrick's Day in Dublin a few years ago.

I lived in two rural villages in Mali, West Africa for the better part of 6 months.

I took a 3-month solo backpacking trip through Europe in summer 2011.

I took a 6-month solo backpacking trip through Southeast Asia. Some first time activities on this trip included zip-lining, rock climbing, exploring southern Laos by motorbike and getting PADI certified for SCUBA.

I lived and worked in New Zealand for 6 months and am of the opinion it is one of the finest countries this world has to offer.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would love to learn the guitar, new card games, new recipes, farming techniques and carpentry. If you can cook you can stay at my house for a week!

I would love to chat about philosophy but rarely find others who are interested in schools of thought.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Belize, Cambodia, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Ghana, Hungary, Ireland, Jamaica, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Myanmar, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, Mali, New Zealand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Courtney’s full profile.