Steve and Nancy Costley's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Steve and Nancy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 23 references 20 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 60, Other
  • Member since 2007
  • Recreation Superintentent & Homemaker
  • Both-University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
"Do unto others, as you would have them do unto you."

ABOUT ME

Two daughters are home now, so we are not accepting guests until February.

We are a happily married couple with 3 daughters. Steve runs a 100 acre city park with a wide variety of activities/sports there, plus a couple smaller parks. He would be the one to talk sports, world events, or drink a local beer with you, although I'll tag along and listen. Nancy is a stay home mom who does lots of volunteer work. I also substitute teach 10-15 days a year. Christina, age 30, majored in Public Policy and got a minor in Intercultural Studies. She is in Turkey working with refugees. Jennifer, age 25, is building sets for theaters. Elizabeth, age 24, is a teacher in Uganda, Africa as of Sept. 2017. This started as a family page, but now the girls are only home occasionally so we normally have open rooms.

PHILOSOPHY

"Love the Lord your God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength, and love your neighbor as yourself."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting & Surfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Steve and Christina couch surfed at four homes in New Zealand. Steve started with the idea that it would be strange, but he would do it for his daughter. He came back saying it is the BEST WAY TO TRAVEL. Nancy, and the rest, now agree since we had great experiences in Europe, Puerto Rico, Alaska, and with people who have stayed with us. We have also had a couple nice meet-ups with locals, like in Turkey, where we got to learn about their life even though we didn't stay with them.

We have hosted several people and expect many more over time. Maybe it will be you. :)

Interests

Steve's and mine include: traveling, bike riding, volleyball, camping, white water rafting, crafts(lots of kinds), sports in general, photography, and playing at the tide pools. If you are here when the girls are here, there are many more interests.

  • animals
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • crafts
  • tv
  • traveling
  • volunteer work
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • surfing
  • sports
  • volleyball
  • cultural studies
  • teaching
  • public policy
  • volunteering
  • parks

Music, Movies, and Books

Books-Steve-Lord of the Rings, Chronicles of Narnia, Harry Potter, and other fantasy
Nancy- Little House, Dr. Seuss, Heidi, Mr. Pudgins, the Bible.

Music- Oldies from the 60's and 70's like the Beach Boys, Doobie Brothers and Elton John. Contemporary Christian.

Movies-Steve will watch lots of types of movies, but not horror/gory . There are several old ones he will watch over and over like Sand Lot and Forest Gump, but he can also talk some of the newer movies too. Nancy is very limited in what she will watch, lets talk kids movies and old musicals.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I, Nancy, loved hiking out to an active volcano in Hawaii and seeing it dump in the ocean at night. Visiting Nepal where my sister lives was awesome. Getting close to nature, whether it is animals in Yellowstone or watching the sun set over crashing waves, is always amazing to me. My biggest adrenaline rush was probably a class 5 white water raft trip or when I (Nancy) went sky diving for my 50th birthday. My favorite repeat vacation spot is canoeing/camping in the Boundary Waters of Minnesota.

Teach, Learn, Share

We want to learn about life in the place you live.

If you, or your kids, want to learn about tide pools, let me know and I will check if there is a good low tide.
If you want to learn a new craft like tie dying, crocheting, making candles...let me know.
If you lost a button or a seam ripped on your shirt, I can help you out.
We can also tell you local tourist things like how to get tickets to TV shows being taped.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Canada, China, Cyprus, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, France, Georgia, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Kenya, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Madagascar, Mexico, Nepal, Netherlands, Netherlands Antilles, New Zealand, Puerto Rico, Saint Lucia, South Korea, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Steve and Nancy’s full profile.