Cq Ang's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cq’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 9 References 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English; learning Japanese
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Student
  • Bachelor in Mechanical Engineering
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello! My name is Cheng Qing, or you can call me CQ in short form (most of my friends call me that) (:

I was born and grew up in Singapore, just graduated from NTU Singapore with a bachelor degree in mechanical engineering. My current mission is pursuing my passion for travelling and finding adventures!

More about me:
Little rebellious at heart! Something about going against the social norm excites me. It’s about seeing or doing things differently/uniquely makes boring things fun!

Free-spirited, globetrotter and a giver. I prefer to make my own or take the less travelled path that brings risk and excitement!

Which is why I love travelling because that's what defines me. Travelling changes my view of cultures and society from what I see in media. Travelling stretches my comfort zone and teaches me life skills that are outside of school books. Travelling brings me to places, interact with locals and learning life from different perspectives. Every destination conquered, every person met on my journey, every experience has built and moulded me.

Character-wise, I would describe myself as an adventurous, spontaneous, positive, open-minded, and cheerful guy. I guess I am an introverted-extrovert, I need my space at times but loves to be around people too. I can be the quiet and shy guy in front of new people, but once you know me well, you will see the crazy and fun side of me!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

After backpacking alone to several countries and meeting countless of people, I realise its not always about the scenery, the attractions or the food, it's about the people I meet that changes the whole experience of travelling. To me, learning the local cultures, making a new friend, sharing stories are truly the best memories of an adventure.

And Couchsurfing is one of the best ways for me to meet locals or like-minded backpackers, to share stories and make incredible memories together!

Interests

- Travelling: I think i have said enough of these!

-- Scuba diving: I was introduced to diving when i was enlisted as a Naval Diver during my national service. The first time i was put underwater in the open sea for training, the visibility was zero and I couldn't see anything. But without the distraction of sight, I was able to hear the quietness of the ocean and I fell in love with it. After passing my military dive training, I went on to dive in Krabi and witness for the first time the underwater marine life and it was incredible. Becoming a divemaster (AOW currently) became one of my bucket list from that day.

--Touch rugby/football: Originated from Australia, it is a team sport very similar to contact rugby except with minimal contact. Been playing it for almost 10 years, it has become part of my life. Was champion for several schools and club tournaments. My next dream is to represent my country for the 2019 touch world cup and also to play social touch in any countries I visit.

--Outdoor activities: Being a sporty person, I have short attention span of staying in one place/ indoor. I love to move around and do activities. Some of the things i have done during my adventures were: Waterfall canyoneering, paragliding, trekking, scuba diving, snorkelling, jogging, etc

--Volunteering: One of my favourite things to do when I backpack is volunteering. I believe in contributing back to the society and helping others. It connects people and brings them together Seeing someone smile is the purest form of joy. Some of the voluntary work i have done are helping the Syrian refugees in Greece, bamboo harvesting in Japan, joining an english camp in Russia, farming in Taiwan, teaching in Nepal etc

--Photography: A hobby that I’ve always had a interest in but yet to explore much. Recently I just bought a Nikon DSLR and playing around with it now! It will be great to meet hosts that can share a tip or two on photography! (:

--Workaway
--Cooking
--Street Food
--Japanese Cuisine!
--Adventure stories
--Laughter
--Wittiness
--Thinking outside of the box
--Learning new skills
--Piano
--Unplanned moments
--Sky and sea gazing
--Chilling under the stars

  • culture
  • photography
  • exercise
  • flying
  • movies
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • swimming
  • adventure
  • exploring
  • volunteer
  • workaway
  • touch rugby

Music, Movies, and Books

Favorite movies: 3 Idiots, Kimi No Na Wa, Hello Strangers (Thai film). Any comedy movies.

Favorite music: I don’t have a specific genre that I listen to, depends on my mood! I like to chill so soothing/laidback music is a plus for me!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-- Helping out a host harvesting bamboos in Japan

-- Helped out farming in Taiwan

-- Helped out an English summer camp as a counsellor in Russia (Best camp experience)

-- Completed a 13 days trek with my sister in Nepal (Annapurna Circuit) and nearly killed myself

-- Flew a plane solo in Australia

-- Live with a small community village in the desert of Israel

-- Helped build a house in Finland

-- Went on a road trip in Iceland (Incredible scenery)

-- Helped out in a Syrian refugees camp in Lesvos Island, Greece

-- Backpacked to every SE Asia country except Myanmar

What I Can Share with Hosts

-- My travelling stories and experiences and about my country

-- Laughter and joy

-- A great time hanging out and chilling, talking about anything and everything

-- Lifetime friendship

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Cambodia, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Laos, Malaysia, Nepal, Norway, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Denmark

Join Couchsurfing to see Cq’s full profile. It’s free!