Logo orange

Laurens Nikolaisen

Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laurens's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 43 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Started over with Software Systems E...
  • University-entrance diploma (Abitur)
  • From Schwerin
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Being on tour! ;-)

ABOUT ME

Hello folks!

In september 2013 I moved to Hamburg to start over with Software Systems Engineering (SSE, like Computer Science / Informatik). So that's I'm doing at the moment.
I'm not that familiar with the city yet. I already know some nice places to go to like Cafés, a nice club, some alternative quarters etc. but there's still a lot we could discover together here in Hamburg if you like. I'd reaaalllyy love to get to know the city very well.

I'm a happy person with a good sense of humour including a bit of irony. So don't take me too serious.

Just check out my references if you'd like to get a first impression. I guess they fit better than any description I could write.

PHILOSOPHY

No matter how unfavorable circumstances are, it just depends on how you interprete life and to which conclusions you jump.

It's a topic do discuss about. There are too many things to write all of them down.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

If you come over I'll try to spent as much time together with you as I can. Since I'm studying I have a lot of free time sometimes and almost no time before my exams. Just sent me a request and we'll figure out how to fit our schedules.

I am participating by surfing, hosting and sharing a nice time together. That basically means doing activities or hang out.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I used to host a lot of people from all over the world in my former flat in Oldenburg. Just in case you want to know some details you gonna ask me or just check out my references.

I already went to the Netherlands and surfed a few couches over there. I enjoyed to get to know very different people with very different background (dutch student in a flat, Erasmus student in a dorm, a guy that works in big company etc.).
Apart from that I stayed at some nice peoples places in france. :)

I really look forward to couchsurf more places next summer. Hopefully I got some time. :)

In general I like traveling a lot and have been in many different countries (italy, france, poland, switzerland, morocco and some more...). Mostly I went there by train & bike together with some friends and we stayed in a tent.
This kind of traveling I also did with my family and I really liked that. But to visit cities or to get to know some people of the country it's not always the best way. That's why I'm here! Combine CS & cycling/camping. Yaaay! ;)

Interests

Reading, swimming, cycling, jogging, listening to good music..... I think what I like most (mostly on my own maybe) is to walk and take photos. I started photography some years ago and I like it a lot. Unfortunately I didn't had much time left in the past months but spring is coming. Let's go outside! ;)

Of course I like to do some things with friends like cinema, dancing, playing board games.... traveling is something I also like a lot. Mostly by train and bike. That's really some kind of adventure!

At the moment I'm really into OpenSource & free software like e.g. Linux or programs like Firefox, Thunderbird, Pidgin (which you probably will know).

I love the idea behind those things: You, the user, has the right and freedom to do with the software whatever he wants to (except selling it)! You can help to develop it, find bugs, support in wikis and forums - it's really nice. And finally you don't have to pay for that.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

There're so many things to mention. Just ask me when we meet? ;)

Countries I've Visited

France, Germany, Italy, Poland, Switzerland

Countries I've Lived In

Germany

Join Couchsurfing to see Laurens's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile