Laura and James

Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Laura: Graphic Designer. James: Electrician.
  • Laura: Bachelor of Design (Visual Communications) from Ma...
  • From Auckland, New Zealand
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me


A lot of good ol' fashioned curiosity about what lies beyond our lil' corner of the world


My boyfriend and I are currently traveling throughout the South West of the United States. We've had so many great travelling experiences so far with the people we've met in the South West and look forward to many many more :D

We love to hear about peoples passions in depth, and enjoy the "total immersion" charm of couchsurfing; that is, not isolated in a generic motel with other tourists. We want to live as locals do!

James & I don't lock ourselves away in our room and not socialize. We always love to be part of the group and love helping out where ever we can :)


Right now is all you have.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


We like to show appreciation to our hosts, be it doing the dishes after a meal or helping with any handyman related tasks or getting our hands dirty in the garden!

When we settle in New Zealand again, we aim to host as often as possible, paying forward the wonderful generosity we've been shown while travelling.


So far, all our experiences have been fricken awesome!! We hope to meet some more random, crazy, friendly people who like a good laugh :)


I love music and have spent most of my 20s dancing the night away to my favourite Drum'n'Bass DJs, doing event photography and designing flyers. I used to play guitar in a couple bands many years back, and wish I could find the time to pick it up again. Before travelling I worked long hours in the Design & Advertising industry, so it's great to get away from the computer and see the world!

I have a great interest in horticulture, cosmology, astronomy and the human mind.

Music, Movies, and Books


The power of now - Eckhart Tolle
Food of the Gods - Terrence McKenna
Ishmael - Daniel Quinn
Biocentrism - Robert Lanza
LSD My problem child - Albert Hoffman

Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, The Peaceful Warrior, Waking Life, Fight Club, The Corporation, Food Matters, A Scanner Darkly, Inception

Anything :)


The Power of Now - Eckhart Tolle
Ishmael - Daniel Quinn
The Hot Zone - Richard Preston
Plague - Graham Masterton
American Psycho - Brett Easton Ellis
Memoirs of a Geisha - Arthur Golden

American Psycho, Singles, Falling Down, Amelie, The Piano, Office Space (and HEAPS of documentaries, especially anything science-related)

MUSIC: Pretty much everything! Especially classic rock and '90s rock (I was a die-hard Pearl Jam fan back in the day), though as I got older I got into dance/electronic too, especially Drum'n'Bass and Breakbeat. We have pretty wide tastes these days so it's hard to be specific!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The Sagrada Familia Cathedral in Barcelona .... Endless Jazz music in New Orleans... and an epic Northern Lights display in Canada last October

Teach, Learn, Share

Anyone who has great anecdotal stories that are hilarious and out-there. It's inspiring to hear peoples life experiences, how they dealt with adversity, curve-balls, and how they became who they are today.

As for the "Teaching" part... James is a legend when it comes to gardening and home improvement, and I know a lot about art and graphic design. And cooking!

We can both, however, share a wealth of knowledge about New Zealand, its culture and history, and the best areas to visit (even a few Maori words and phrases)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Canada, France, French Polynesia, New Zealand, Spain, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, New Zealand

Join Couchsurfing to see Laura’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups