Christian Roden's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 6 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 3 References 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning German
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Research assistant and writer by day, painter by night.
  • College, BA with a double major in English and Art Histor...
  • From Delaware, Ohio
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Going places and seeing things!

ABOUT ME

Four months after I finished college, I moved to Le Havre, France, for a year on a Fulbright Grant with the U.S. State Department and the Franco-Americain Commission. I love traveling and meeting people, talking with them and getting to know them, especially if they do interesting things. I have a dry and offbeat sense of humor, and am also a bit of a nerd. I'm a country boy at heart, and love to be outside: preferably hiking, climbing, swimming, sailing, or sketching. I love music, both listening to it and making it. I sing, and in college I acted in Shakespeare plays.

Je me suis déplacé au Havre après mes études universitaires, pendant un an sur une bourse Fulbright avec le Département d'Etat américain et la Commission Franco-Américaine. J'adore voyager et rencontrer des gens, surtout s'ils font des choses intéressantes. Je viens de la campagne, et préfère être dehors: de préférance de randonnée, natation, voile, ou croquis. J'aime beaucoup la musique.

PHILOSOPHY

"Grant that I may be beautiful inside. Let all my external possessions be in friendly harmony with what is within. May I consider the wise man rich." ~Socrates, 'Phaedron'

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Sadly, the apartment I was able to rent is not big enough to host people, but I would love to meet you and show you around the city. I am also willing to meet up for coffee and a drink, or provide you with a meal at my place.

Malheureusement, mon appartement est trop petite pour accueillir les visiteurs, mais je voudrais vous rencontrer et vous montrer autour de la ville. Je peux vous rencontrer pour un café ou un verre, ou vous offrir un repas chez moi.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have met many wonderful Havrais through CouchSurfing, all of whom have welcomed me to their city. I have yet to surf or host anyone (due to space limitations), but I definitely want to participate more.

J'ai rencontré beaucoup des Havrais gentilles par CouchSurfing, tout qui m'ont accueilli dans leur ville. Je vous participer beaucoup a ce site!

Interests

Writing, Reading, Hiking, Sailing, Swimming, Painting, Drawing, Music, and just about everything else.

L'écriture, la lecture, les randonnées pédestres, la voile, la natation, la peinture, le dessin, la musique, et à peu près tout le reste.

  • writing
  • singing
  • sketching
  • coffee
  • drinking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • rock climbing
  • swimming

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: I've never met a book I didn't like (OK, well, except for "Moby Dick"). My favorite authors are Shakespeare, John Donne, Charles Dickens, J.R.R. Tolkien, Dorothy Sayers, T.S. Eliot, John Milton, Henry Fielding, Agatha Christie, Robert Frost, Arthur Ransome, and Madeline L'Engle.

Movies: Anything by the Coen brothers, Love Actually, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, The King's Speech, Elizabeth R, Primal Fear, Inception, Oceans 11, Flawless, The French Connection, and anything with Cary Grant.

Music: Just about anything. The Avett Brothers are my current favorite. I also love classical music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Singing Korean songs during a choir tour to South Korea. Even though I can't speak Korean, the audiences could still understand every word I sang. Pretty simple, but it still gives me goosebumps.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, South Korea, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Germany, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile. It’s free!