Logo orange

Ami Norton

Frankfurt am Main, Hessen, Germany

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 7 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ami's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 1 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • German/English Translator
  • Graduate from University of Warwick,...
  • From London, UK
  • Profile 45% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

As a newbie Frankfurter, to make this city my home and become a culinary queen in the kitchen...

ABOUT ME

So I work as a translator German/English, working mostly on creative, editorial, cultural texts. I've not been doing it too long but I love my job.

As a person I am friendly, talkative, at times a little hectic. I love getting to know people. I am very curious I always want to know more about the world...

I have a mixed heritage background so am a mixture of things that are very typically British with a touch of Caribbean spirit...

PHILOSOPHY

Experience is key...

Whether that is exploring a new city, tasting a fruit you've never seen before, speaking to a 50-year-old flamenco singer in less-than-perfect Spanish, smelling the leather of a vintage handbag, sharing a cup of tea with your Nan and talking about her youth...

Take the opportunities afforded to you with both hands and run with it...

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

So I'm very new to the whole movement after hearing about it while travelling in America. I have been to some meets in my new city, it's a great way to meet like-minded people. I'm looking forward to find out more about it all and meeting interesting people during my travels.

Interests

I have a lot of things that I am passionate about... here are a few...

Dance... hip hop, jazz, lyrical, ballroom and latin... give me a beat and I'll probably want to dance to it.

Culture... literature, film, art, photography, though I don't claim to be an expert

Keeping fit... yoga, spinning, outdoor cycling, am a bit of a cardio junkie.

Food... world food, local food, baking, eating out... I collect recipes like stamps.

Pretty things... clothes, jewellery, antiques, books... I can spend hours at the flea market in awe.

Travel... whether long or short-haul, I find little more fulfilling than getting to know a new place/culture/people.

Music, Movies & Books

I love film... and would like to think of my taste as quite eclectic, from international cinema to old cheesy Arnie films to great British cinema. But I'm not a fan of films made to make you cry...

Music... at home - Jazz, chill-out, motown, reggae, indie, acoustic. nights out - house, electro, dubstep, hiphop, commerical, indie, latino.

Books... I like books that enlighten me in some way. I also like a good thriller/crime novel and am currently into the Scandinavian crime novel trend. I also like poetry and am starting to getting to reading short stories.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Iguazu Falls in Brazil. Breathtaking

Teach, Learn, Share

Language skills - English, German or a bit of Spanish.

Dancing.

Yoga.

What to do in and around Frankfurt (still learning myself)

Countries I've Visited

Argentina, Brazil, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Germany, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Ami's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile