Cybele Chang

Oakland, California, United States

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login over 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Cybele’s full profile. It’s free!


  • environmental consultant/ social entrepreneur
  • College and graduate school
  • From Chicago, IL USA
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me


to feel alive every day of my life.


I guess the best word to describe myself is an adventurer. I enjoy taking risks. So, I've tried most adventure sports. These days I've been trying to improve my surfing. I've been traveling since august 2010 and my trip ends February 2011 in Brazil. Aside from traveling and sports, I love to cook and hang out with friends. I am easily entertained by life and yet expect way too much from it at the same time.


Recently, I've been trying to live life in the moment. I think a lot, so it is difficult for me.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm back in the Bay Area after 7 months of traveling. I'm trying to get settled before opening my home to CSers.

I live in Oakland, a 15 minute train ride to San Francisco. I have to say that I'm not the best tour guide since I've only lived in SF for half a year. So, I'm not super knowledgeable about the best restaurants and hang out places. I know the financial district best since that is where I worked.

Right now, I'm unemployed, so taking a CSer around is financially difficult for me. If you stay with me, please be aware that I won't be taking you around in SF. Of course, we can hang out.

If your interested in learning about the East Bay, I have a lot of knowledge to share and I can take you around.


My first and only CSing experience was in Rio, Brazil. AMAZING. The people in Brazil are wonderful. I wouldn't have enjoyed Brazil as I did if it weren't for CS.


cooking, eating, surfing, skiing, walking, swimming, rock climbing, trapeze flying... obviously traveling.

Music, Movies, and Books

The Alchemist, Eagles, Out of Africa

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Started a textile business out of China trying to employ women in rural China.

Lived in China, Taiwan, and Australia.

Favorite travel trips: Machu Picchu, Peru, New Zealand, Railay Thailand for rock climbing

Join Couchsurfing to see Cybele’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups