Chris  Gruar's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris ’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 32 References 26 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • History and English Teacher
  • B/Arts and M/Teach at The University of Sydney
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

We have just moved to Sheffield from Australia, and we hope to return some of the hospitality we had on our travels!

ABOUT ME

Over the past few years I've been traveling and exploring the world, mainly with two wheels! I've been on a number of cycling expeditions. I love to teach history, take my fishing kayak out on weekends, drink coffee or a nice ale, and go on short bush-walking adventures.

Natalie has spent years working on cruise ships, and loves to travel. Nat has never tried Couchsurfing so I'm looking forward to introducing CS to her.

PHILOSOPHY

I think Mark Twain can say it much better than us: “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When we can we enjoy hosting people, and when visiting cities abroad we try to meet with locals to experience a place from those who know it the best!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have had many great experiences couchsurfing in Malaysia, France, Morocco, Malta and England. Each time has brought the fondest memories of the places I have visited. I think my favorite CS experiences came in Iran, where I took some time off the saddle and traveled through Central Persia enjoying the company of kind hosts in Qom, Esfahan, Yazd, and Shiraz.

Interests

I love to cycle-tour, and explore destinations from the perspective of the saddle. When I'm not on the bike I like to walk up mountains, fish, watch football, drink good ale with mates, and teach.

  • pets
  • fish
  • coffee
  • walking
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • kayaking
  • scuba diving
  • sailing
  • soccer
  • teaching
  • history
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I guess my favourite groups at the moment would be John Butler Trio, Moby, Pink Floyd, MC Cole, Portishead, Bob Marley and Radiohead. My favourite writer or book is Alain de Bottom's The Art of Travel (a must read!), Eric Hobsbawn's The Age of Extremes, and Antony Beevors Stalingrad.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I would probably say cycle-touring through Central Asia is my favourite travel experience, but jumping out of a plane in Namibia was pretty wild. Scuba diving numerous times in parts of Asia over the years has also been fantastic!

Teach, Learn, Share

I have a passion for history and I studied both modern and ancient at university. I'm also an English and History teacher. I have a bit of experience cycle-touring and travelling with a kayak, so I can definately share what I can about small expeditions.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We are both very easy going and friendly people, who enjoy the company of likeminded folks. We can help people practise their English or Spanish if they are learning, and share stories from the road. We have done a lot of housesitting in Sydney in 2015, so caring for pets and helping out around home comes pretty naturally to us. We would also happily prepare a meal, or take a host out for dinner to say thanks!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Bahamas, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, China, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, El Salvador, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Haiti, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Jamaica, Kazakhstan, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco, Montenegro, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Qatar, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, Turkmenistan, United Kingdom, United States, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Virgin Islands, British, Virgin Islands, U.S., Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, China, Sri Lanka, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Chris ’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups