Santa Monica, California, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see DAALTJE’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Bodywork (Rolf structural integration/massage) + tutor ES...
  • Masters in Fine Art (installations, video, photog). + nat...
  • From Home Santa Monica; grew up in Chicago/ Wilmette IL USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


My mission is to contribute us, the human world. Sometimes it seems that endless curiosity occupies me. Human bodies in movement. People and patterns of connection. How we do it!


-- It's the 4th of July and I'm in Seattle. I'm with a friend which might end tonight. . I'll know soon. I'm very open to couchsurfing because of meeting people. I'm spending some time at a conference near the airport. It's all good.

--Then it was...Saturday, June 30 and I'm in Vancouver half-way through my stay there.

-- The Seattle beginning finally went well. I got my luggage back from SW Air and got my passport and my ride north went smoothly.

Re my Vancouver trip: I'm really excited about going to the Subud Gathering for the Americas. I've been doing Subud for 40 years - can I believe that! It will be on the UBC campus, people from all over the western hemisphere. .. some are here from Europe and Africa too.

Profile: Where do I start? Family: I was born in Chicago Illinois USA. My grandparents on one side were born in the NorthCentral/Midwest, on the other side in Germanic Europe. They came in the 19th century. I'm clear I'm the offspring of people who moved around a lot.

I've been fascinated with international relations, with the interaction of sub-cultures in this big culture that is earth. I love movies because of how much they communicate and on so many levels.

I've gotten quite interested in the politics and the economics that inspired the USA to gift the bankers with enough money to pay off all the default mortgages and buy every family in the US a house (who does not have one).

I have a strong interest in non-verbal worlds.
I have a masters degree in fine art, from the UC, but I started at SAIC in Chicago, in the "Time Arts" department. Time in art and its changes fascinate me. I don't make movies but I am awed by their power and how much more there is to do with it.

I am a passionate person, with integrity. I expect the same and mostly get it.

One passion is this: I am an accomplished bodyworker. In the US the license is called "massage" but I do advanced work, in particular the Rolf Method of structural integration, and also energy work. The names of energy work range from acupressure to reiki with vortex points, qi gong, and zero balancing in between. I'm a reiki master teacher.

I'm happy to be alive, to be as functional as I am (I am using a cane most of the time now.), and a citizen of the world.


-- "If you experience it, it is the truth. The same thing believed is a lie."
-- Let the good times roll.
-- Humanity is one spirit.
-- We are one. -- TKR

May all beings be happy!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I hosted one very tall Nederlander. And met 2 travelers, was great. I've met some others too. I hosted several groups and a single American woman a few times. 5 Belgian ladies = the best! And 2 French couples. etc. Then a group of 5 Germans answered my front door (I"d told them they needed to be invisible but nooo.) surprised my landlady and ended my hosting.

I will start again but only singles or pairs and carefully.

I've been to two meetings, one a Pakistani dinner, one a big party described below.

This was be my first surfing. I stayed at the hostel, then for 3 days with a wonderful woman in Seattle. Turns out we have a lot in common. I did bodywork on her too. She's great. I'll get around to writing a comment for her profile; I promise.


not much yet. I'm hoping for more. I figure it out as I go. The Dutch guy was so tall I gave him my bed, np. I slept in the living room.

He actually helped me with (my meager) Dutch. I lived there and everyone spoke English too me.

There was a party at this painter's house. He has an enormous back yard. He paints "Greek Orthodox icons". What a surprise.

I met a woman who does Theta healing, from Utah.
And an Austrian traveler. I took her to see the Functional Art gallery in StaM.

I'm ready Freddy.


bodywork. movement. cultures. music jazz blues electronic dance jamming drums. plants. entheogens, vision and self-improvement. Chinese medicine. film. animation, computer graphics. breathing for energy, health, vision. fun. other people.

Newly! TuiNa: a way of practicing Chinese Medicine centered on touch. It's the orthopedics and chiropractics of Chinese medicine but it treats all, just like all of Chinese medicine.

I'm getting into bicycles. I need an adaptor to ride (fits on the crank and holds the pedal) and so I've been learning about bicycles and fixing them. There's a bike coop not too far away.

And did I say bodywork?.. (the rolf work= structural integration, zen bodytherapy (zentherapy), swedish massage, esalen massage, zero balancing massage, touch for health work (relearning, be a body for me?), polarity, reiki (am a reiki master-teacher), ortho-bionomy, Feldenkrais and their ATM's, movement work (somatics), qigong and taichi.. and I'm tired of listing. It's intently wonderful and the learning never stops. Making a difference....

I am interested in human evolution as we move to seeing that we are a whole and thus we are one. I have been friendly to the kind of people who have entheogenic and psychedelic dreams. (I am unfriendly to hard drugs, period. Also to weapons, violence and anti-isms)

Friendly to people making videos. I did that in art school. Then I did installations, now photos.

Music, Movies, and Books

... favorite movie is French Hiroshima Mon Amour --
and all the Miyuzaki films (sweet Japanese animation, always has people flying in his movies)

I like the World Channel on KCET (28-4), I dont always agree but I see news from elsewhere, NHK, RT, ITA, Spanish, Israeli, AlJezerra.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In the Negev Desert at night. I was 17 y.o. I looked up at the sky and wondered about the cloud I saw, thinking "It's night."

I realized I was looking at The Milky Way, our galaxy.

(Yes, I love Neil deGrass Tyson too.)

Teach, Learn, Share

Since I do bodywork I could share some. I like to explore newer healthful (today's theory?) cooking.

I teach Reiki healing work (ask me) and have held classes at summer Rainbow Gatherings a few years ago.

I know about computers. I've done crochet. (2012 I started to knit.) I can fix a car. Ride a bike, slowly. I built mine at BikeRoWave. I can wire a plug, Fix a hole in a wall. Make hard cider. Bake bread. Fix a computer and set it up so it's easy.

I'm starting a garden. I need help in digging it up. 3-4 months fallow and it's full of grass again.

I can tutor some math and some science. I have student taught in programming and in performace art. I can run and set up audio equipment. I can speak 3 languages terribly but it's better than nothing. In August the Italians come to Holland on holiday. I gave them directions in Spanish. What a hoot.

So goes my life. I sometimes attend a few spiritual groups, art shows, Quaker meeting, Subud latihan, Arica work, yoga, public library, events at the pier. Obla Dee Obla Da Life Goes On and On...

I teach ESL (brilliant at writing and pronunciation help). I also tutor science and math. And computer 'stuff'.

I can think, I can wait and sometimes I can fast.
I can also share the love of learning and thinking clearly.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Indonesia, Israel, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Netherlands, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see DAALTJE’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups