Mike Lucarelli's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 55, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Moonlighting
  • Is this referencing wisdom or knowledge...? I'm a Tar Heel
  • From Mountain Lakes, New Jersey
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Be nice, be happy, be ... life is a journey

ABOUT ME

I've been working for myself or traveling since I graduated Carolina in 1985. My favorite way to go is by sail-boat. There's nothing more intriguing to me than learning the subtleties of another culture. Hanging out with the locals for an evening is far more appealing than a day touring a museum. I've spent most of my life in the non-profit world, and while I now day-trade stocks, I still do marketing and fundraising with nonprofit groups.

PHILOSOPHY

Life is short and simple, don't complicate it. Enjoy the journey. If you are reading this, you are luckier than you realize; find ways to give back - even if it is just a smile and making the people around you feel better.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am willing to be a host in Phuket, Thailand and I look forward to being a good guest along the way...

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

My best couch surfing days have to be the 2 1/2 years I was hitch-hiking on sail-boats and staying in random homes around the Caribbean and in the South Pacific. I stayed on 7 different boats (at one point, for 24 days at sea), a few hotels, many local homes (one place in Fiji for many months - my favorite).

I also do a considerable amount of couch-surfing within my family. With 19 neices and nephews between my 2 sisters, a brother and 4 step-brothers, I make a life of couch-surfing their respective homes whenever I am on the east coast of the United States.

Interests

Hmmm... basically just a lazy guy enjoying life... also a bit into yoga, vipassana and tequila, not necessarily in that order. One day I will write / produce a movie, likely a dark comedy with political and social commentary. Fiji would be the perfect place to do this; there is no funnier culture in the world. I love sports, especially soccer, squash and skiing.

  • culture
  • yoga
  • partying
  • boating
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • sports
  • soccer
  • racquetball
  • languages
  • hitchhiking
  • squash

Music, Movies, and Books

Life of Pi, Spiritual Tourist, Mayan Dream Walk, Confessions of an Economic Hitman... Movies are too many to list. I like Brazil, Eating Raul, Razor's Edge, and prefer non-hollywood. Just watched Requiem for a Dream... wow.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The most amazing thing I've done would have to be sailing across the Pacific Ocean, and arriving at little islands in the middle of nowhere. Hanging out with pearl farmers 500 miles east of Tahiti, partying with Fijians inside the parliamentary grounds in the midst of a coup (they were the "human shield") ... watching sunsets on the western tip of Western Samoa, the last place the sun sets each day... but mostly just enjoying learning the subtleties of local cultures.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can help you with Nonprofit Marketing & Fund-raising questions. I love learning languages, and can easily teach ESL or beginners spanish.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belize, Bermuda, China, Colombia, Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Fiji, France, French Polynesia, Germany, Greece, Italy, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Norway, Panama, Samoa, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tonga, United Kingdom, Virgin Islands, British

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Fiji, Thailand, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Mike’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups