Damien Le Gal's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Damien’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 133 References 87 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Chinese, German
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2004
  • Unemployed, various projects, former researcher and teacher
  • Travels, Doctorate and post-doctorate in Sociolinguistics...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Mountains and libraries !

ABOUT ME

36, world-traveller, environmentalist, long-distance hiker (PCT), alternative (trying to be), academic (in disorder). I love dancing, going out to interesting cultural events, travel. I love experiencing new cultures and everything new in general. I'm trying (through conscious purchases and actions) to have a low environmental impact and a positive social one.

PHILOSOPHY

I believe I am rich when I have a lot of free time, not money (although having money may help buying some time off.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

hosting people and being hosted

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I used couchsurfing a lot when I travelled, especially when I was on my own (which often occured). I like hosting people and used to welcome almost anybody but I have becomen more demanding with the years (and as CS has been invaded with people with questionable attitudes).
The "neutral" experiences on my profile come from the change between the old reference system and the new, they are actually positive.

Interests

Not in that order anything that is fun, travelling, trekking, party, salsa, studies, exchanges, ecology, sustainable living, cinema (3 years studies)
sport: outdoors, trekking, teamsports (I play rugby, badminton),
going out, partying, dancing, cinema, arts.

  • arts
  • dancing
  • dining
  • partying
  • movies
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • sports
  • rugby
  • badminton
  • ecology
  • languages
  • tourism
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

young and independent cinema especially English, French and American
Jarmusch, Scorsese, Stone, ...
Books : real adventures, Blaise Cendrars, J. London, ,
music : world especially African and Indian music, reggae, quiet stuff and a bit of punk as well

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I crossed a good part of Tibet on foot with my best friend. We entered Tibet on food illegally, avoiding cities then hiked and hitch-hiked our way through the country and making various long distance treks for a total of 4 months.
visited 60 states (26.6%)Create your own visited map of The World or Triposo world travel guide for Android

Teach, Learn, Share

ecology at home, conscious consuming, how to learn foreign languages, how to repair bicycles

Countries I’ve Visited

Armenia, Austria, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Canada, China, Colombia, Denmark, Ecuador, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Iran, Laos, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Mongolia, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Pakistan, Peru, Poland, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Taiwan, Thailand, Togo, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, Colombia, Taiwan

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    9 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Damien’s full profile. It’s free!