Logo orange

Amelia Rodgers-Jones

Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Amelia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 5 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2006
  • I work at Trader Joe's and volunteer...
  • About 2 years of mostly wasted time ...
  • From Chattanooga, TN, United States
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT ME

I'm heading to Ecuador soon, for yet another attempt to push my Spanish to a halfway decent level- I'm excited for the new experience, and hope to meet lots of interesting folks. In general, I'm a fan of having adventures/going on road trips/exploring. The only sport for me is Ping Pong. I adore trashy 90s dance and pop music (and the not trashy stuff, too). I'm queer. I have the dumbest dog you'll ever meet, but she's so cute it almost doesn't matter. North Florida is by far the weirdest place I've ever lived, but it's time to go. Way, way time to go.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I surf when I can, and typically like to try to host at least a couple of folks wherever I'm living at any given moment!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've been hosted a few times, and they were all great experiences. I've hosted a couple of times, also cool. Sold.

Interests

Music, ping pong, social movements, autumn, hiking, politics, singing, dancing, good conversation, ROAD TRIPS

Music, Movies & Books

MUSIC: If it's done well, I probably like it. Sometimes I like it when it's not.

Books: What has happened to my attention span that it has been so long since I've finished something other than a piece of young adult fiction? I'll eat a book of poetry for breakfast.

Movies: Anything featuring Sandra Bullock (I'm only half joking. Sandra holds an important place in my heart.)

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Jeep trip through the salt flats of Uyuni, in Bolivia. Ayahuasca in the amazon basin. Machu Picchu. Tango shows in intimate bars in Buenos Aires. Maroon Bells national park. Tierra del Fuego. Vermont in the fall. Road trip across the US. Leading/organizing the Dyke March for portland pride '09, '10, and '11. Learning that I love to dance after 22 years of thinking I never would.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach people about my city/cities, basic spanish, ping-pong, how to drive, how to play simple rhythm guitar, and how to make fried okra.

Countries I've Visited

Bolivia, Plurinational State of, Canada, Chile, Mexico, United States, Uruguay

Countries I've Lived In

Argentina, Mexico, Peru, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Amelia's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile