Daniel Buck's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login over 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 1 reference 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Ancient Greek
  • 56, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Data Entry
  • Linguistics
  • From Liberia
  • Profile 85% complete

About Me

I live in the country about an hour from South Bend and Fort Wayne. I grew up on a radio station in Liberia, learned Arabic while serving in the Navy, and have worked in linguistics and research. I love to travel globally and always try to learn the language of whatever country I'm visiting. I can get by in Spanish, French, and Arabic but am only fluent in English (all varieties).

I've been married to Anita since 1986 and we have 9 children, ages 11-30. We homeschool with a Lifestyle of Learning philosophy.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I like to meet other travelers. I have friends all around the world. Couchsurfing is an ideal way to contact other people like myself, and provides an affordable way to take part of my family with me.

Interests

  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I love "Chariots of Fire"--the song, but also the movie. I like to read anything by J. R. R. Tolkien or his friend C. S. Lewis.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I walked the Mackinaw Bridge barefoot.

Teach, Learn, Share

We live near a beautiful calendar garden https://www.facebook.com/defriesgardens/,
and hiking trails in River Preserve Park https://elkhartcountyparks.org/destinations/river-preserve/.
We live in "Amish Mennonite Land" and personally know some if you would like to meet someone from that culture.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Philippines, South Africa, South Korea, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

Côte d'Ivoire, Liberia

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.