Logo orange

Dan Allen

Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 6 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 19 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Danish, Portuguese, Spanish
  • 40, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Teacher
  • Music
  • From Mexico, Danmark, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Smile... and the whole world smiles with you :)

ABOUT ME

Hola!

Will trade salsa dance lessons for a couch! lol :)

A gypsy kid born and raised in Mexico with an Aussie mum speaking Spanglish and then ended up playing in a punk band as a teenager opening for the Dead Kennedys in California, went to study in Danmark and travelled a lot and working in a Danish bakery - came back the states a few years later and was a chef in Colorado and then went to uni in San Francisco studying film, photography, music and sound and worked for George Lucas at Lucasfilm, then went to Cuba for the Havana Film Festival and even had dinner and drinks with el jefe, Fidel Castro himself! Then I came to Australia and lived in Melbourne for a few years lecturing in sound and music for film at Monash University and now am lucky enough to live in Sydney studying glass blowing and salsa dancing :)

I love rock climbing, racing mountain bikes (have been in three 24-hour races! :) kayaking, swimming at the beach, hiking, camping, and generally anything outdoors :) Also love cooking, music, art, photography, film and just about any new experience :)

Have been around the world a few times... just got home from Carnaval in Rio & Sao Paolo last year and am planning around the world again this Christmas for the end of the world in Dec 2012! lol ;) I plan to live & volunteer in Latin America, Africa and Asia for several years... hopefully to find a nice place to settle down someday :)

ps. I don't smoke, love pets, only drink socially and am very easy-going & flexible

PHILOSOPHY

Smile :)

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I am new to couch surfing on the internet, but have 'couch surfed' all over Europe as a teen before there was even a 'couch-surfing' wesbite! :)

Nowdays, I can afford to stay in a hotel, but I would prefer to stay with local people who know what's happening :) I am happy to buy you a beer/coffee and help do the cleaning up! lol :)

Here's my facebook if you want to check me out... (or add me as a friend :) http://www.facebook.com/dan.allen.3785

I also have some reviews from another couch-surfing like website where I have rented rooms in houses for a few weeks or so:

Min

super nice & considerate with a most interesting background! Host him!

Stephanie

Dan and Aiko were such lovely guests, polite, friendly and great to chat with. I wish that i could post a photo of the lovely little flower arrangement that they made and left on our table, so pretty!!! We would love to have them stay with us again.

Fiona

Dan is a wonderful guest. He is polite, friendly, helpful and really great to have around. I would not hesitate to suggest that you accept him as a guest into your home. A lovely, trustworthy, and interesting guy.

Christine

It was great to have Dan to stay as he was not only interesting, having been everywhere - but also did the dishes! Dan and his friend who also stayed, were clean, quiet, respectful, fun to be around and were lovely happy people to have in the house. They seemed to take an interest in the myriad animals we have in our shelter and all their different characters. We hope to see Dan again sometime!

Keti

Nice person, quite and considering others around him, I would always have him as a guest.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I am travelling at the moment, so mostly just surfing for now...

Add me on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/dan.allen.3785

Interests

Travel, hiking, camping, beach, nature, rock-climbing, mountain-biking, sky-diving, salsa dancing, live music, photography, art, learning new things, eating new foods, seeing new places, meeting people :)

Music, Movies & Books

Babel, Slumdog Millionaire, Love Actually, Amalie, Delicatessen, Stranger Than Fiction, Juliet of the Spirits, Orfeo Negro, Kiki's Delivery Service... soundtracks by Thomas Newman, Gustavo Santalalo, David Holmes... Jeff Beck, Bach, Pat Metheny, Airto, Lamb, Cassandra Wilson, Susana Baca, Pablo Milanes, Los Papines...

One Amazing Thing I've Done

LOL :) Too many to say... falling in love, falling out of airplanes, falling asleep smiling... being with friends, meeting new people, dancing in the streets, helping someone... Carnaval in Brasil, drinks with Fidel Castro en Cuba, working with George Lucas in California, skydiving & rock climbing, camping in the middle of the Australian outback, climbing glaciers on South Island in New Zealand, NYE in NYC, good crazy Americans, anything anywhere in Europe, cherry blossoms & onsen in the snow in Japan, sleeping on the beach in Kauai, jumping in a frozen lake in Denmark, rescuing 3 people in a blizzard and then being near hypothermic with frozen breath in my beard dreaming of running on a tropical beach overnight in a bivouac... owning my own photography business, life modelling, playing in many, many bands, sleeping on ship decks in the fjords watching the stars... Too many more to list! :)

Teach, Learn, Share

I love talking to all people... everyone has a story!

Countries I've Visited

Australia, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Cuba, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Puerto Rico, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Australia, Denmark, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Dan's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile