Daniel Pigou's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 54 References 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Swedish; learning Chinese, German
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2006
  • Teacher
  • University
  • From Malmö, Skåne County, Sweden
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To explore Shanghai :)

ABOUT ME

I am a Swedish New Zealander who is living and teaching English, literature, and history in China. So I am a mix of a lot of different cultures and like to find out about and live in different cultures. My life has brought me to a lot of different places in my travels and work and it is difficult for me to say where I will be next.

In general I am a friendly and easy-going guy and hope to be a good host to any visiting CouchSurfers while still keeping my place clean. I am also respectful of my hosts when travelling and don't like to take up too much time if you are busy.

Please read through my profile before sending requests.

PHILOSOPHY

Every moment and every decision counts for making us who we are. Live life for what it is.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I take part in CouchSurfing meetings on a regular basis.

Surfing and traveling when I'm free or have a decent place to stay.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Hosted loads of great surfers in Sweden, England and China. Also surfed some couches and made great new friends in China, Thailand, and all over the world. Taking part in CS activities and meetings whenever and wherever I am staying.

Interests

Reading books about history, philosophy, culture, language or classical novels (British, American, European literature).
Amateur photography, and of course traveling :)

Other than this I just do various sports such as running, cycling, hiking and swimming.

  • culture
  • books
  • literature
  • photography
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • soccer
  • history
  • languages
  • philosophy

Music, Movies, and Books

For movies I like thoughtful and interesting movies such as Cloud Atlas, Magnolia, Elephant Man, the Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless mind, and the Butterfly Effect. I always like to find out about new great movies .

As for Music I listen to a little bit of everything, especially classical music and British pop/rock bands. But I am generally open to most kinds of music (except for some electronic music).

I am currently reading some Chinese literature (Mo Yan) and Cloud Atlas by David Mitchell. In general I enjoy reading British, American, and European literature and non-fiction. A few favourites would be Dostoievsky's Karamazov Brothers and Mary Shelley's Frankenstein.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Met wild monkeys face to face at Monkey Mountain in Kaohsiung, Taiwan. Saw the burst of a geyser in Rotorua, New Zealand, and travelled around Tunisia without speaking either French or Arabic.

Teach, Learn, Share

I would be able to teach you Swedish, English and maybe (basic) Chinese. Always happy to share travel stories and photos from around the world and open to learn anything that you can teach.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A couch when I am available.

Travel stories and photos from around the world.

Some languages and history I picked up from various different places.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, China, Croatia, Cyprus, Denmark, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Malaysia, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Northern Ireland, Sweden, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    3 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!