Logo orange

Lindsay Trostle

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login over 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Lindsay's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 8 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Student/Teacher/Athlete/Cat servant
  • M.A. Linguistics, B.A. Spanish/Anthr...
  • From Frewsburg, NY, USA
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Communicate fully and wholly, express myself unabashedly, examine/process/grow....

ABOUT ME

Twenty something who-ma-whatsits, in betwixt-tweener, looking for that "thing" that will provide meaning/purpose and satisfy my yearning.

I live with Brad. Brad is my wonderful partner [now fiance], and we have shared many beautiful moments together. We are big nerds, and like to do things like practice yoga together, mess around with Reiki energy, play scrabble while watching Star Trek, make up voices for our cats, make up songs about inappropriate things ["Bloody Baby Beaulah" is our latest song...], make delicious food, etc etc.....

I am, very happily, an asana/pranayama instructor, and I practice yoga. I completed my 200 hour training at Yandara Yoga Institute in Baja California in June/July 2012. I have been teaching since March 2012, and I will happily teach you a class. Here is the website I share with my partner: https://www.facebook.com/GoldenScarabYoga I am a sub at Amrita Yoga in Philadelphia, and I teach at Nilgün Yoga as well. I also privately instruct in Narberth and Merion Station.

I am most interested in yoga for its philosophy and in its inherent conduit qualities- I can practice the breathing, postures, and meditation to achieve stillness and mindfulness practices, and to self-realize. I am only now beginning to tap into something deeper, and what I have begun to see is very exciting and I can only look forward to, with pleasure, what may become of it in the future.

I've studied Spanish since 1998. I taught at Syracuse University and at a small private high school. I love tutoring Spanish, but I don't think I am much suited as a classroom teacher at the high school level. I hope [very much] to someday teach at the university level again.

My major source of income comes, right now, from a nannying position. I watch three children, two girls [5 and 2.5 yrs old] and a toddler [11 months].

I am a fiber arts fiend, and will happily knit/crochet/sew whatever pops into my mind.

I feel this, also, must be mentioned: I love my cat.

PHILOSOPHY

when you are content to be simply yourself and don't compare or compete everybody will respect you

Just for today, don't worry. Just for today, don't anger. Respect those around you. Be true to your practice. Be content, not complacent.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Now that I live in the 6th largest city in the United States [Whoo!] I'd love to check out the couchsurfing community here. The city can be lonely without friends. I also want to host people, and be hosted. Please check out the couchsurfing site I share with my partner here, our name is "Lindseus_ex_Bradchina"

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Was hosted in Florence, South Carolina By Chris- a lovely fellow! I hope he returns the feelings...[That is, if he wasn't too abashed by the Mario Kart beating he endured....]

We also hosted a Latvian couple, traveling the United States.

We hosted Elena, who was traveling with her dog, Caroline, to be a woofer.

We hosted Australian-body-builder-fireman-ball of joy Adam.

Interests

Nature, spending time in it. Taking pictures. Cooking/Eating/Exercising mind and body. Sleeping/Napping/Snuggling. Knitting/sewing/crocheting. Reading/writing/thinking [too much].

Traveling! Look how much I haven't! visited 5 states (2.22%)Create your own visited map of The World or jurisdische vertaling duits?

Music, Movies & Books

Yes.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

A horse in a Datsun truck.

visited 21 states (42%)Create your own visited map of The United States or Like this? try: Word Color

Teach, Learn, Share

Knitting, English and Spanish grammar, sewing, painting, drawing, cute animals, finding a fulfilling career, etc.

Countries I've Visited

Aruba, Canada, Mexico, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Costa Rica, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Lindsay's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile