Daniel Blucker's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 43 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 43 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 70, Male
  • Member since 2018
  • Retired librarian
  • MSM, MLS
  • From North Little Rock, AR, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I lived and worked the Middle East and North Africa for many years. I am now retired and live in Dallas. I volunteer in the foster care system, the school system and a children’s hospital. I still travel internationally to new and old familiar places every year, and look forward to making new friends hosting and traveling with Couchsurfing. I want to meet fellow travelers and share travel experiences. I do better with messages and requests that are personalized after reading my profile. Usually don’t accept requests that are not.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I want to expand my travel impressions and experiences. I benefit from the help of locals to insure I have a more meaningful visit. And I want to help visitors get the most out their visits to my home and town. I even host while on vacation.

Interests

  • culture
  • architecture
  • music
  • swimming
  • archeology
  • travel
  • gym
  • museums

Music, Movies, and Books

For music, it’s classical western music, as well as rock.
For movies, it’s foreign language and English language dramas and comedies.
For books, it’s Arabic language in translation, Scandinavian crime fiction, John Irving, Naguib Mahfouz, Orhan Pamuk, and Michael Pearce for example.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Literally bumped into Ugandan dictator Idi Amin while working in Saudi Arabia.

Teach, Learn, Share

Not sure it’s sharing or teaching, but I can discuss travel, living abroad, cultural adaptation, and Middle East history.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share conversation, jokes, and friendship. We can exchange our stories and experiences. I can also share the expenses and chores of my visits.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bahrain, Belgium, Canada, China, Cyprus, Egypt, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Iran, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Lebanon, Malaysia, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Norway, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Arab Emirates, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Wales, Yemen, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Egypt, Morocco, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

My Groups