Daniel Ashley

Paris, Ile-de-France, France

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French; learning Arabic, German, Italian
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • British Embassy Paris
  • Oxford, UK and Inalco, Paris
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 50% complete

About Me


I grew up in the UK and Zimbabwe, now have been living in France for the past five years. I like it here - the food and wine are great. I like meeting people from all over the world and would be happy to do things in Paris with guests (although not the tourist trail - I've been here too long for that). But would be very happy to show people cool bars, restaurants, theatres and things like that.


There's a lot of wisdom in Rudyard Kipling's Law of the Jungle

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I'm happy to host - one person max or a couple as it's a small Parisian appartment and my salon is not huge.


I had a great time surfing in Lille and have occasionally gone to events in Paris.


Languages, reading good books, theatre (acting and watching), travel, exploring new cities by foot. And dance, mostly swing or rock but I'm thinking about taking up ballet in the spring.

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: Oscar Wilde, Tolkien, John Fowles, His Dark Materials, P.G. Wodehouse, Alexandre Dumas, Boris Vian, Roald Dahl
Music: Muse, Simon & Garfunkel, Coldplay, Damien Rice, Ennio Morricone, the Rat Pack, Arcade Fire (the reason I came to France), blues and blues rock.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Seeing the Milky Way move across the sky in the Sahara was amazing.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach English and modern jive. I've had lots of experience with adminisration in France. I love learning languages and would love to practise Arabic or German or Italian.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Germany, Greece, Italy, Morocco, South Africa

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Swaziland, United Kingdom, Zimbabwe

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups