Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 4 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Teacher
  • BSc in Sport and Exercise Science
  • From Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I grew up in Cape Town, South Africa until I was 15 before moving to Somerset, England. I think my time spent growing up in South Africa has really made me appreciate what I have and not to take it for granted. I also think growing up during and after apartheid has taught me an immense amount about the importance of fairness and equality. So I would say that I was a fairly fair person...If you were beating me at football I may have to cheat, a little. : )

I moved to Cardiff for University and had an amazing 5 years living in the Welsh Capital studying Sport Science and then working as a Teaching Assistant where I worked helping children with learning difficulties, behaviour problems and physical disability. It was during this time that I realised that I wanted to be a fully qualified teacher.

Before starting my teachers qualification I lived in Australia for a year with my family who live in Tasmania and then New Zealand where I spent about a year travelling and working. I had an amazing time in both countries and would highly recommend both (Equally)! : )

I returned to England to complete my teachers training in the steel city...Sheffield! My course was incredibly gruelling but I got there in the end...just about - So I am proud to say that I am a Teacher! I'm currently working in London as a supply teacher and have just completed my first year - I love my job! There has never been a dull day and I think working in London with such a diverse group of children has made my job particularly interesting and even more enjoyable.

London is an amazing city that I appreciate more and more, the more I live here!
I'd highly recommend visiting it if you get the chance!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I love meeting new people and experiencing new cultures. I think Couchsurfing lends itself perfectly to both of these aspects of travel because it allows you to get to know a new person and experience a new place with the help of a local.

Interests

I love to play sport ...particularly football! When I was younger I played every sport under the sun but now mainly football and enjoy the odd swim.

I enjoy cooking and particularly for someone or with someone else - my favourite dish is a good curry!

I like to keep a close eye on the news and politics and therefore love a good discussion about politics and whats going on in the world if the other people are interested to do so too! For the sake of the discussion rather than pushing my agenda - I wont bore you with shit that you aren't interested in - I hope! : )

Most of all - I like good banter (jokes) and having a laugh with family, friends or complete strangers.

  • cooking
  • politics
  • hiking
  • sports
  • travelling
  • beach
  • socialising

Music, Movies, and Books

I have very wide taste in music but most recently have been enjoying Kings of Leon, Arctic Monkeys and Otis Redding.

I should read more books!! I seem to love a good book when I get recommended one but don't seek them out - I like reading the newspaper and news articles online.

I don't watch many films anymore - it has to be something really good or with a good friend who really wants to watch something ...otherwise I'd probably prefer to share a coffee or a beer and a good chat. Although I have enjoyed the odd TV series - The Wire, Luther, The Office, Seinfeld and anything with Louis Theroux and most recently Reggie Yates. Every now and again I enjoy a good BBC comedy or drama.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Flying in a 6 seater plane up the west coast of Tasmania through a storm was petrifying and stunningly beautiful at the same time...

Does that count?

Teach, Learn, Share

As a teacher - I do all three on a daily basis!

Teaching children new things is one of the most rewarding experiences!

I love learning new things - all the time! I'm incredibly curious!

I love to be able to share - I'm from a culture where nearly everything is shared...Ubuntu! I think Couchsurfing goes hand in hand with this beautiful African philosophy.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A good conversation...

A joke ...

A story...zzz

Maybe cook something nice...

Countries I’ve Visited

Croatia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups