Daniel Blanco's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 85% response rate
  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 68 references 44 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, English
  • 37, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • CX Product Owner
  • Graphic Designer
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I want to share some first things about me. Favourite playlist on Youtube, live music experiences with Sofar Sounds, goals around best customer experiences with Zappos, favourite readings about leadership and Colvin, my lovely company.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BdCw7UcxZvI&t=505s
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SDlhRuIeqAs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-XfPmqajFs
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJ5k_Byd9Fs&t=43s
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hh_Lfi4peSY

10 more things about me:

- Born in a game-of-thrones-city called Caceres (Spain) very small (70,000 people).
- Big family with very local mindset and not travelers at all (I am the crazy one)
- Youngest of a family with five boys. All of them married with children.
- Eight nephews. Three girls and five boys (again!). Two children by brother.
- Worked as a graphic designer, project manager junior & dishwasher (unforgettable)
- Little entrepreneur for six months with an umbrella project made in China.
- Closer to customers experiences around flowers with a new position around CX .
- Love for creativity, advertising, new ideas and business concepts around startups.
- My Perfect day is a party with people from everywhere exchanging their cultures.
- Barcelona is a place full of insights aligned to my global mind and personality

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

In the past I never experienced the love of traveling with my family, the knowledge about new cultures and all the conversations around me was about very local subjects.

I used to be that guy who could be at home on Saturday nights very often because I did not find too much exciting to repeat the same routines over and over.

Life made me escape from that environment with tears in my heart with a magic plan which is making me face my lack of adventures from childhood.

Couchsurfing is an essential part of this magic plan and all of you as well.

Interests

I always want to meet people, cultures, countries, help, reflect, think, laugh. I like words like empathy, tolerance, confidence, curiosity, discovery, equality, transparency, simplicity, generosity, fellowship.

And the most important thing: collaborate to make ideas that helps to people.

  • books
  • design
  • music festivals
  • flowers
  • technology
  • socializing
  • music
  • live music
  • soccer
  • business
  • entrepreneurship
  • nature
  • cultures
  • travels
  • conversation
  • mindfulness
  • startups
  • experiences
  • business development

Music, Movies, and Books

I do not like to talk about favourite ones although I like these ones because there is something about my personality, life and beliefs in each one:

- A book: The Giver
- A song: Paradise
- A movie: Secret life of Walter Mitty

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I left my career in Canada because I felt that I needed to connect with warm feelings again in Spain. Now I am working in a new different role as a customer service agent in an online flower company called Colvin. I listen people every day and help them to send flowers to their recipients with beautiful words and feelings written on their special notes.

I sent an email to the founder of Google, Sergey Brin. In that email I wanted to say something very important before I took my flights to Vancouver. It was important to do this for me. After this email and my flight I was braver, more determined and the most important thing: happier.

I helped to one girl that she was lonely in Barcelona through my friend and flatmate, Iñaki that bring her to our house. She came from Germany and she had escaped from an orphanage because she wanted to live another life. She needed one place to sleep while she was deciding the next step in her adventure. My flatmates and me give her this possibility and we can share one of the most wonderful experiences in my life. Her name was Noe.

I asked each speaker in a conference about entrepreneurship, creativity and business. People around me were so surprised about my raised hands over and over. It was kind of challenge for my shyness and I felt so grateful when I was invited to be a speaker in the future just because of my bravery. It was funny how you can make a little different when you dare to do something else.

Teach, Learn, Share

- Graphic Design
- Spanish
- Catalan (a little bit)
- Spanish Omelet (I am not the best cook)
- Spanish music (flamenco songs)
- Crazy customer experiences about flowers
- Conversations about Barcelona & Spain.

What I Can Share with Hosts

- Liron Natan (Netanya, Center District, Israel): We had great conversations (here comes my apology for speaking too much about Judaism😂)

- Leticia Santana (Curitiba, State of Paraná, Brazil): Thank you for receive me and for the good conversations about media, advertising and creativity.

- Cansu (Istanbul, Istanbul, Turkey): Dani showed me an amazing rooftop place to see view of Barcelona, he took me to a local beach, we went to flemenco dance show together.

- Angie Gainemova (Казань, Россия): Daniel is awesome host, it was my first experience and I’m lucky that it was he. As a person talkative, funny, interesting, kind and welcoming

- Валерия Проценко (Kyiv, Kyiv city, Ukraine): Daniel is very kind host, he gave us keys and his flat is also in very good district, so we can go to every point in easy way.

- Ebru Karaağaç (Afyonkarahisar, Afyon, Turkey): Daniel is really kind, talkative and friendly person. I stayed 2 nights in his flat and he gave me flat's keys, I was like in my own home.

- Vivian Sakihara (São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil): Adorei o tempo que dividimos juntos, compartilhamos nossas histórias e experiências e tivemos ótimos momentos juntos. Claro que saímos para dançar, fizemos meditação, reunião com amigos...foi muito divertido! Como descrever o Daniel? Ele é um amor de pessoa, muito gentil, educado e mente aberta. Super recomendo!

- Jovious Teh (Georgetown, Penang): We cooked Spanish omelette, we went to tapas bar and walked along the beach in barceloneta. We also had a good discussion about Asian and westerners’ culture, he is creative and honest person.

- Eleah Ramos (Auckland, New Zealand): I ended up staying in Daniel's apartment for 10 nights, instead of 4! I feel very fortunate to have stayed with him. Daniel is a great host. He is friendly, thoughtful, kind, very creative, and intelligent. He's a pretty busy man, but we managed to hang out, have fun, and share interesting and meaningful conversations during my stay.

- Kwok Donny (Jakarta, Indonesia): We discussed about life and work in Barcelona, very interesting topic for me. His flat location also very strategic and many cafes and restaurants nearby. I really reccomended to stay with him, such an awesome guy :)

- Tanya Ananeva (Sankt-Peterburg, Saint Petersburg, Russian Federation): We with my friend came to him deep in the night and he accepted us with our friend, although he needed to work early in the morning. He also trusts people very much and yes, he gave us his house keys. I believe that Daniel are a great person.

- Małgorzata (Wrocław, Lower Silesian Voivodeship, Poland): Daniel literally saved our stay in Barcelona by accepting our last minute request after the previous host cancelled our stay on the day we were coming.

- Olivia Tomie (NJ, USA): Superb host for how I travel. Daniel was extremely flexible and relaxed. When I arrived, he immediately told me to freely act like I was in my own house, which ended up meaning: have your own key, use whatever in the kitchen, clean up after yourself, come and go as you please, help with the dog (puppy Tarzan)... it felt like Daniel and I were actual roommates in Barcelona.

Countries I’ve Visited

Germany, Greece, Mexico, Spain, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

My Groups