Daniel Méndez's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 8 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 2 References 2 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Front Desk Clerk at Hi Patagonia
  • Chemical Engineer
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a science guy that lives for travelling around the world to meet people from different countries and cultures and to enjoy the wonders that nature kindly offer us.

I recently moved to Puerto Madryn, Argentina and started a new life. That was a first big step and right now I am taking small steps to stablish in this beatiful city.

I am currently living at a friends house while working in a hostel as front desk clerk, where I enjoy meeting people and try my best for them to enjoy the visit and have great memories in this place.

I enjoy sitting in a bar or a friend's house drinking and chatting about life, science, sports, etc with my friends every time I can.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've been using hostels and friends houses every time I'm on the road, and I have to say that hostels are a great way to meet people from all around the world, but in my experience the real way to know better the people and a place is when you go to their houses, and I've found amazing people that open their houses to me and that have treated me like family from day 1, and for me that is just instant happiness and renewed hope for a better world.

So I'm now open to change my hostel rutine and try something more real.

Interests

I love photography (instagram: @danieljmf), apnea and scuba diving, treking, camping and biking. I really like to do different sports (aldo I'm not very constant in doing it for very long), from the typical soccer, baseball, basketball.. to underwater rugby (yes, that's a sport!) and yoga.

I like animals, especially dogs! And I love to see them in the wild (wild animals, not the dogs).

Of course science and the continuos learning is very important to me, I always want to know how things work and why the world we live in is like this.

  • animals
  • dogs
  • culture
  • photography
  • dining
  • walking
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • baseball
  • basketball
  • soccer
  • rugby
  • chemistry
  • science
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I can listen practically every kind of music, but in general I like Foo Fighters, Nirvana, Norah Jones, Amy Winehouse, Red Hot Chille Peppers, Incubus, etc..

I really like to watch movies (all kind of them!), either in my couch or at the cinema, and I really keen on movies that make me think or those that are non-linear.. For example Forrest Gump, Interstellar, Into the Wild, Memento, The Machinist, Inception, Amelie, etc.. Of course I also enjoy a light comedy or chick flick to relax and laugh for a while.

I'm not the reader I would like to be, lately the things that I read the most are scientific articles, but I'm always lookking towards reading a good novel, my favorite books are "Cien años de Soledad" (One hundred years of solitude), Siddartha, Into The Wild, On the Road, The Analyst, The Call of the Wild, Into Thin Air, etc..

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Kayaking right next to a curious right whale, cramponing over a glacier, apnea diving to almost -30 meters, walking at the border of the Grand Canyon and watching the Milky Way with the Roraima and Kukenan tepuys right next to them.

Teach, Learn, Share

I think we must learn everyday, about anything, I think that life is about learning to be a better person everyday. I love to travel because I think that I can learn the most of other culture and people, I want to learn about different cultures, new ways of preparing food, new sports, new animals and nature, see other types of arquitecture, etc..

For now I teach chemistry every week, but I also like to be able to talk about my experiences to other people, like apnea diving, photography tips, and anything that can be usefull to other people.

Sharing my little knowledge and experience is the best thing I can give.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I expect to share at least a good talk, I'm very curious and love to make questions to make people talking about the things they love. And of course if they're curious as well I also have a few stories to talk about.

I can help them practice spanish or english, I can talk about Venezuelan culture, prepare "arepas" or other tradicional dish, and for sure they will taste the famous rum from my country.

I would love to enjoy the day outdoors knowing the local places and end up with a good beverage and a nice talk.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Aruba, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Colombia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Grenada, Hungary, Italy, Panama, Poland, Serbia, Slovakia, Spain, United States, Uruguay, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States, Venezuela

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!