Daniel Gerbault's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 76% response rate
  • Last login 20 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 5 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Lao, Thai; learning Burmese, Sign Language - French
  • 64, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • trekking organiser in Thailand and Burma
  • Thai civilization (self -taught)and forestry school in fr...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

i like the idea of sharing homes with travelers

ABOUT me i have been living in Thailand over 30 years.
i have studied Thai, Lao and Burmese languages. I can read and write Thai. I like the diversity of Southeast Asia.
see my website : www.apsaraventure.com

I have written a book in French about the ethnic Karen of Thailand :
https://www.editions-harmattan.fr/livre-ban_ko_cho_mae_chroniques_contemporaines_d_un_village_karen_de_thailande_daniel_gerbault-9782343254920-72507.html
I hitch hiked in Australia. i also traveled around New-Zealand, did a the route burn track.
Hitch-hiking is a good way to meet local people.
i also like to go to India.
Nepal and Reunion island in the Indian Ocean. On Reunion island, I did paragliding and hiked.
I know French sign language. I took a course in French sign language. My parents are deaf.
I've hosted a couple of young deaf backpackers in Thailand .
i am familiar with school for deaf in Bangkok.
In Laos, i've worked as interpreter French-Lao for ARTE and Swiss TV on a documentaries about elephants and ecotourism projects.
i love the concept of Gibbon experience in Bokeo. we did zip line above the jungle.

PHILOSOPHY

curious of other cultures

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

i live in a house in the outskirts of Bangkok near canals and orchards.

Interests

movies, theater, traveling, reading, trekking in the Himalayas, talking to people. In Thailand, i often go to Thai film archives.
When i am in France in the summer, i go to festivals such as documentaries festival in Lussas (South France), theater festival in Avignon.
i organize trekking off the beaten tracks in Thailand and before in Burma .
i am fond of Southeast Asia especially Burma, Thailand and Laos.

  • culture
  • books
  • theater
  • documentaries
  • festivals
  • flying
  • boating
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • scuba diving
  • skydiving
  • track and field
  • paragliding
  • languages
  • sign language
  • tourism
  • hitchhiking
  • volunteering

Music, Movies, and Books

Le rapport de Brodeck de Philippe Claudel
Le portail de Francois Bizot
Fous de l'Inde de Regis Airault
Francois Cheng
musique indienne

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

gliding over the Swiss Alps in a glider, skydiving in France, scuba diving in Thailand and in the Philippines.
visiting a school for deaf in Bangkok with a French deaf as i am concerned by deaf world cause both of my parents are deaf.
- in Hawaii : trekking along the Kalalau trail on Kauai island.
- hiking on Big island volcano early morning to see lava flowing.
- California : Yosemite and San Francisco. Portugal: Lisboa and Alentejo.
- flying over the old capital of Pagan (Burma) on a balloon.
- snorkeling in Raja ampat in Indonesia the best i have ever seen!
- International puppet festival in Bangkok Nov.2014 great shows from Ireland, Portugal
- watching great documentaries in a film festival in South of France.

Teach, Learn, Share

i can teach Thai to foreigners.
in Nonthaburi where i live in the outskirts of Bangkok, there is a nice floating market.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, Canada, China, Germany, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Laos, Lesotho, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, New Zealand, Pakistan, Philippines, Portugal, Réunion, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Turkey, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Japan, Thailand

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.