Logo orange

Daniel Terpstra

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 3 Positive References
  • Fluent in English, English; learning English, French
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Engineer
  • Engineering
  • From Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • Profile 65% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Have fun, make friends

ABOUT ME

About me? I'm Canadian, and proud of it! I'm a hockey player -no not all of us are :). I'm an Engineer and currently pursuing entrepreneurship.

I caught the traveling bug in 2009 after living/working in Galway, Ireland and traveling to Croatia. In Ireland I worked at the university and fell in love with the people. In Croatia I traveled along the Dalmatian Coast from Zadar to Dubrovnik. Both experiences were amazing.

After graduating in 2011, I set-out for a new adventure around Europe visiting Netherlands, Belgium, France, and Czech Republic. Spending 1.5 months (of 3 months total) in France I walked and hitch-hiked around the country meeting some amazing people every step of the way!

I try to travel every August. In 2012 I traveled around Romania and Bulgaria, and a week in Istanbul, Turkey. In 2013 I traveled around Slovakia, Montenegro, Serbia, and a few days in Budapest, Hungary.

I like walking around new environments, meeting new people, and making some good memories.

Maybe I should have put this at the top.. but I am a very loyal and trustworthy person. I get along with, and enjoy talking to all people!

As you can see, I'm quite the linguist. I've mastered both Canadian and United States English - no simple feat. I'm working on understanding Aussi's, Brit's and the like but its a difficult task ;). Nah, but in all seriousness I'm getting pretty good with guessing the region someone is from after hearing a couple sentences.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

THIS summer (2012) my goal is to surf some people in July and do some surfing in August when I'm traveling Romania, Bulgaria, and Turkey!

Interests

My greatest hobby/passion is ice hockey, I've been playing for almost 20 years now. I play forward and alternate between Centre and Wing.

Music, Movies & Books

Well, its not my favorite movie, but I recently watched "In Bruges," and I thought it was pretty good. I was told it was a good idea to watch it before I traveled to Bruges.

Favorite band is Kings of Leon. I like all sorts of music. Recently I've been listening to country on the radio.

I read books from the "Very Short Introductions" series when I'm feeling inclined to learn. Also, I've recently been reading Philip Roth books. The content of his books is so fitting given the friend who directed me towards his work hahaha.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

Slept on the stairs of the Sea Organ, near the Salut to the Sun, in Croatia - one of many amazing things seen/done

Countries I've Visited

Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Canada, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Romania, Slovakia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Canada, Ireland

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile