Danis Okic's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Danis’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Bosnian, English, French; learning German, Italian
  • 18, Male
  • Member since 2024
  • High school student and a freelance digital designer
  • High school
  • From Sarajevo, Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

In short: Traveller, mountaineer, designer, eternal life student, BJJ athlete. I love nature, learning about life, other people, cultures, science, religion, sports... I grew my love for travelling through learning new languages but also grew my love for languages through travelling... if that makes sense :D Either way, I like positive people, people with awesome stories and people with good intentions!
Even though I'm 18, I aspired to travel solo as much as possible from the money I saved up or the money I earned through freelancing. Since I couldn't reserve accommodation because I wasn't of age, I would still somehow find a way to travel - whether it was going to language exchanges, visiting my brother or distant relatives or staying in an apartment from my family abroad.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I found out about Couchsurfing through a TED talk (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7vmHGAshi8 I suggest you listen to the talk, it is really inspiring) from Tomislav Perko even before Covid (lets say it was 2018 or 2019). I'm writing this text the day after I turned 18 as I am now eligible to finally make a Couchsurfing account :D I love the idea of staying at someone's place in exchange for a cool story and conversation but I also look forward to hosting someone myself as soon as I get a bigger crib of my own :)

Interests

  • hiking
  • mountaineering
  • sports
  • history
  • languages
  • science
  • travel
  • nature
  • biking
  • bjj
  • brazilian jiu jitsu

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't have favorites as they change quickly but I really like the 80s music, KDST radio (GTA SA radio :D) and an album I listen to a lot recently is Alegria from Gipsy Kings.
Not a big movies fan but here are some movies I liked and watched recently: The Game, Pulp Fiction, Shawshank Redemption, Scarface...
I read pretty much everything, from design, history, science all the way to finances...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I learned French during Covid solely on the Internet and then also went to France 2 times (2021, 2022), staying in French families on a language exchange for 2 weeks.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can tell you about life, history and culture in Bosnia and Herzegovina and the Balkans. I can teach you some cool moves from BJJ (even though I'm no master). One thing I would like to learn really is recognizing the stars in the sky :D

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can adapt pretty easily, help you with chores like cleaning or preparing food. I don't snore as far as I know :D and I would be glad if you were happy to show me stuff in your city maybe or just share some cool (life) stories from the place you come from/ from the place you live in.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Australia, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Turkey, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bosnia and Herzegovina

Join Couchsurfing to see Danis’s full profile.