Daniel's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 7 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 2 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Irish
  • 58, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • educational supervisor
  • reached Master's degree level in Anthropology/Archaeology
  • From Tyler Texas
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

bringing peace. love and justice to the world wherever I can, and with as few clothes on as possible!

ABOUT ME

I was born in Tyler, TX, but moved to Austin as quickly as I could get out of that conservative environment. I have now moved to Tucson, AZ, after Austin got too big, too crowded, too expensive, and terrible traffic and humidity. I have done archaeological field work, and several education-type jobs, but now I'm a supervisor for scorers who are scoring the standardized tests the students have to take. I am a singer, musician, and writer who gets my muse flowing at jam sessions, open mikes, karaoke, and in scheduled concert performances. I am a member of a very liberal and accepting Methodist church in Tucson, where you can be you! I am as far from my age as a man can get, not looking, acting, or feeling like the number at all, very active, workout, yoga, hiking, cycling, etc.

PHILOSOPHY

Since I have no idea what's coming after this life, I propose to live this one to the fullest, living by the Golden Rule and hopefully spreading love, peace, and justice wherever I go. I want to see as much of this beautiful world as my resources allow before I hit the other side of the dirt!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have a good degree of hospitality sense and I open my home when possible to travellers coming to Tucson.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've stayed at other singer's houses when the choral group has travelled and been very pleased with the experience. Also, my Methodist friends in other towns have opened their home to me. The best time I had was when I and my bf at the time stayed with friends in Oakland, CA, and were treated to a wonderful tour of the Bay Area and some fun places. I have hosted two Couchsurfing travellers from New Mexico and Florida at my apartment, and both were splendid to spend time with.

Interests

I love the outdoors, environmental preservation, glbt and social justice issues, travelling, naturism, and sex, of course. I enjoy a wide variety of music, both vocal and instrumental, but since I play woodwinds, I really get into melodic jazz and blues music. I've composed music and written poetry and started a novel. I also love trying to learn other languages, and I've had some lessons in Spanish, German, and Hebrew. Meeting folks from other cultures is fascinating to me.

  • writing
  • books
  • poetry
  • concerts
  • education
  • environment
  • clothing
  • traveling
  • music
  • jazz
  • blues
  • karaoke
  • outdoor activities
  • teaching
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: jazz, blues, classic rock, folk, new age, classical
Movies: adventure, sci-fi, history, fantasy, some romance, documentary
Books: adventure, sci-fi, history, fantasy, travel, some romance

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

"Torches on the Mountain"

My friends and I were staying at the top of Masada in Israel in a youth hostel. I woke up and couldn't sleep, then went outside and saw a steady "snake" of fire coming up the winding trail from the bottom of the mountain up to the top. It was the initiation ceremony of the Israeli paratroopers, all carrying torches on fire, and the visual was very impressive. And I wrote a song about it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am easygoing and full of info on many topics. I am still learning my way around this desert community, but I have been on a few hikes in the dry areas and seen a lot of natural beauty. I am learning the names of all the different varieties of cacti, as well as birds and the rock art symbols. I can share all the music from my former singing group, the Capital City Men's Chorus, some of my own compositions, poetry, and other cultural items I have.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share good conversation, travel experiences, a warm heart, and good company, taking it as far as one wants.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belize, Canada, Germany, Greece, Israel, Mexico, Netherlands

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile.

My Groups