Daniel Eng

Portland, Oregon, United States

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Looking for work
  • B.Sc. in Chemical Engineering w/ German 2nd major from Tu...
  • From Portland, OR
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Drive across North America, again!


I enjoy human interaction on various levels and enjoy getting to know people at bars, in sports, in school, or through mutual acquaintances. If I don't say much, it just means that I want to converse but don't know what to talk about. I'll also open up the better I get to know you.
What else about me? Young, energetic, impressionable. Show me something new! I like to help if I can such as give directions, open a door, or clean-up a mess. I love bicycles and getting around on them, enjoy the sun, the snow, and extreme weather. People are inherently good, sometimes we lose sight of those around us but can stop and reevaluate our attitude.
I can get deeply engaged in tasks and obsessively try to work them to perfection. I'm very optimistic, over-trusting, but stay calm in crises. I get nervous about little things, like speaking in front of people. I can't dance but I like moving to the beat - same for singing along to music.
My cooking is a work in progress. But I like following recipes and trying to cook new stuff. Recent things I've attempted are Moussaka and Currywurst. What's even better is enjoying the delicious food which other talented people cook. I also enjoy baking brownies, a cake, or a pie.
Laughter makes it great to be alive.


Peace on earth, care of the environment. Be constructive rather than destructive.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I've surfed and tried hosting once. The surfing has always led to cool experiences. Especially in Prague! Hosting was fun too. I plan to do more hosting soon. I also like to attend local Couchsurfing events.


It's great to be able to rely on other Couchsurfers when I travel. The hosts have always been knowledgeable about the locale, and generally go the extra mile to make my stay enjoyable.


Theater, Sudoku, Soccer or Football (depending on where you are), skiing and snowboarding, house parties, bars, dance clubs, Frisbee, Cycling, Trails, shortest path, shortcuts, climbing on top of structures, trains, food and restaurants, beer, Tae Kwon Do, speaking german, playing cards, chemical reactions and things that go bang or boom, or BOOM (but only in peaceful ways), architecture, science museums.

Music, Movies, and Books

Rap, Hiphop, Mainstream Pop, Electronic, Dubstep, DnB, Indy, Rock, and what you listen to. Some artists I enjoy are Ratatat, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Band of Horses, the Jezebels, Loch Lomond, MGMT, Lady Gaga, Basshunter, DJ Manian, Kid Cudi, Muse, Mika, Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Daft Punk, Benny Benassi, Justice, OK Go, Gorillaz, B.o.B., La Roux, Hurts, Untertagen, Casper, Butch Clancy, Frittenbude, Bon Iver, Egotronic, Supershirt, State of Mind Crew.

Sadly I don't read as much as I once did. I used to love the Redwall series, patricia c wrede, Tolkien, and also thriller and mystery novels. Have read several Steinbeck novels, Kerouac, and Robert Pirsig. I keep up to date with the Wheel of Time series and have also read Harry Potter.

Got to see the shorts at the 2011 Berlinale, amazing! Also liked Ed Wood (1994). TV shows I like are IFC's Portlandia, Twin Peaks, Lost, and FX's Justified, AMC's Breaking Bad, and The Walking Dead.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

>You should see my tree-fort that my friends and I have been building for a decade!
>Rode down a waterfall in the columbia river gorge
>Made Pika Pika (long exposure photo light art) for the victims of the Japan quake and nuclear reactor disaster
>Riding the Deutsche Bahn for 33 hours total in one weekend
>Being a local celebrity for a morning (https://twitter.com/scooperon7/status/405691742684712960/photo/1)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you how to hammer a nail, how to solve a simple differential equation, how to open a beer with a lighter or a cellphone.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Slovakia, Switzerland, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups