Danny, Lisa, Ray & Leo Quah's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Danny, Lisa, Ray & Leo’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Chinese, English
  • 31, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Lawyer & Nurse
  • National University of Singapore & University of Sydney
  • From Singapore, Singapore
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

ABOUT US

Danny & Lisa are a married couple with two sweet boys - Ray (4y) & Leo (16 months).

We love to travel, make new friends and exchange life stories. And when we are not travelling, we want to bring the world to us! We have thus decided to open up our modest home in the North-Eastern part of Singapore so that guests can come couchsurf! We welcome people from near and far :)

We promise an authentic Singaporean experience in a truly Singaporean setting - the 4-room HDB flat we call home. And we also promise good company and conversation, a warm family life with our children, and share with you what we love about Singaporean life, food and culture.

IMPT: to Couchsurf with us you MUST like young children and be willing to spend time with our two boys. Also, if you plan to do a lot of touristy sightseeing around Singapore and/or experience the nightlife/party scene, we are probably not the right hosts for you. We do things leisurely and in a relaxing manner, start our days early and go to bed before midnight.

WHO WE ARE

Danny is a lawyer by day and a father by night and on weekends. Lisa is the much better half. She's a nurse by day and a supermom and keeper of the home 24/7.

Danny & Lisa are extremely curious about the world around them. We love asking questions, listening, sharing stories, experiencing different facets of life. We love meeting people and making connections.

PHILOSOPHY

Psalm 128:1-2

"Blessed is every one that feareth the LORD; that walketh in his ways. For thou shalt eat the labour of thine hands: happy shalt thou be, and it shall be well with thee."

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

We have hosted couchsurfers from Ukraine, Columbia, Estonia and Papua (Indonesia).

Danny has previously couchsurfed in Turkey and India.

Danny has previously hosted couchsurfers from Sweden, New Zealand and India.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

No descriptions from us will do justice to the elaborate reviews that you can see below!

Interests

We're very active outdoorsy people. We love hiking, cycling, beach activities, ball sports, adventure sports. Lisa's also an avid salsa dancer (and Danny has been trying his best to catch up!).

We LOVE food. We're willing to try anything and everything. Spiders, dog, snake, worms, balut (half-formed duck egg). You name it, we'll try it! Of course, our appetites don't just extend to the weird and wacky. We will travel to try delicious and delectable food, which do not stop at our local Chinese, Malay or Indian food =)

Other than that, we love travelling and meeting new people, reading, spending time with family and friends, going to church, learning and volunteering.

  • dogs
  • culture
  • dancing
  • dining
  • indian food
  • yachting
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • sports
  • volunteering
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

Lisa is into decluttering and minimalism. She watches YouTube videos by Marie Kondo and is keen to learn about how to better manage her life, her home and everything else there is to manage under the sun.

Danny reads voraciously. He's particularly interested in international affairs, psychology, economics and politics. He reads biographies, travel non-fiction, spiritual guides, etc.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Watching the sunrise over the top of the Himalayan mountain range;

Jumped off a 12m-high cliff into impeccably clear waters;

Slept on a yacht under a clear, starry night sky;

Danced through the night

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Cambodia, Canada, China, England, France, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Liechtenstein, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Syrian Arab Republic, Taiwan, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, India, Singapore

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Danny, Lisa, Ray & Leo’s full profile. It’s free!