Dara Casey's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dara’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Student
  • undergrad: philosohy/ sociology..... masters: global studies
  • From Dublin, County Dublin, Ireland
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Since I started college my plan has always been to move to a new city as soon as I graduate, to learn a language, experience a new city and immerse myself in a new culture. After spending a month in Berlin last summer, I knew this city was the one to choose because; it seemed like a very international city with many people from all over the world looking for the same thing as myself, I really like the anti-capitalist/counter-culture vibe that is so apparent all throughout the city, the party scene is unlike anything I've ever experienced, there is a very engaged political scene which is much larger than what I am used to in Dublin, and unlike most other capital cities it is possible to live here rather cheaply. My plan is to get a part time job and work just enough so that I can live + save a little, and spend the rest of my time reading/writing and enjoying the fruits of the city.

ABOUT ME
I am currently writing my Masters thesis

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

helping and sharing people, meeting new people, learning new things.

Interests

I feel like I can be interested in almost anything.

  • culture
  • writing
  • literature
  • politics
  • reading
  • cycling
  • history
  • sociology

Music, Movies, and Books

I like many different genres of book, both fiction and non-ficiton, but why I mainly enjoy reading is that it gives me an insight into somebody else's world, so books that are good at doing that are the ones I enjoy the most (and that doesn't always entail realism).

I like a wide variety of music and some my favourite genres include techno, dnb, psytrance, jungle, reggae, psychedelic rock and Irish trad music, but I don't really agree with the idea of pigeonholing musical types and prejudging them based on that so I try and be open to everything (aside from mass-produced shite).

Again I like a huge variety of films and can enjoy anything but I avoid Hollywood troupe-fests (although even those are fun to deconstruct to see what it tells us about modern culture)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I am just after cycling from Amsterdam to Berlin which is a journey I cannot reccomend highly enough.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am knowledgeable in the area's of philosophy, sociology, politics, history and literature and would love to talk to people about whatever they may be interested in in those area's.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Meals, conversations, time and hopefully the ability to repay them the favour of a place to stay one day.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Ireland

Join Couchsurfing to see Dara’s full profile. It’s free!