Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see DARRELL-LIBBY’s full profile.


  • 247 references 221 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Spanish
  • 49, Other
  • Member since 2008
  • Darrell: Archaeologist; Libby: Counselor
  • Libby: MA in Counseling Psychology; Darrell: MS in Anthro...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

We are Libby and Darrell. We work jobs where people pay us to do things. And then we go play. We live on a small homestead. Depending on the time of the year, we raise pigs, chickens and various foods. While not vegetarian, we strive to be local-tarians. We feel fortunate to be able to raise so much of the food we eat.

We spend a lot of our free time remodeling/fixing our house, making/growing food, and planning our next trip. We truly enjoy learning about other cultures, whether it is a different part of the United States, of the Americas, or of the world. Should extraterrestrials find us, we'll surf with them too.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We like traveling, and we like people. I suppose this is why we like Couch Surfing. We very much enjoy meeting new people and hearing new ideas. Sometimes the ideas we hear are different from our own. This is okay. We are travelers.


Camping, backpacking, boating (canoes, kayaks, and sailboats), reading, eating, psychology, anthropology, current events, contra dancing, old architecture, target shooting, movies, dumpster diving, graphic novels, jokes that don't translate, living as cheaply as possible, and travel.

  • cats
  • chickens
  • architecture
  • dancing
  • dining
  • walking
  • drinking
  • boating
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • dumpster diving
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • hunting
  • anthropology
  • psychology

Music, Movies, and Books

I (Libby) like movies that would be considered pulp. I don't want to hear about drama or watch horror or try to follow a romantic plot. I want non-plausible car chases, explosions that are gratuitous, and conflict that is solved by someone(s) getting punched- possibly over and over again. Don't make me use my brain when watching a screen.
Books are where I may (possibly) redeem myself. We have shelves of reference books that are used fairly often. For fiction I enjoy books with strong character development. I enjoy mysteries, the classics, and occasionally books my friends insist I read.
Music is vital. Our area has some wonderful folk music, especially contra dance bands. I'm always open to hearing new music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hotsprings that you find when walking in the woods- those are the best things ever. :)

Teach, Learn, Share

Homesteading is consistently teaching us new things. We've learned how to render lard and make it into soap. We can tap maple trees and make syrup, candy and sugar. We can fall trees for firewood. We know (very) basic gathering of local, wild plants for food. We can build, plumb, and wire various things. If you are interested in any of these things (and it's in season) we'd be happy to teach. If you need something small done in your home while we are there, we'd be happy to help.

We also enjoy boating, target shooting, and contra dancing, so we may be able to share our knowledge of these activities. We are yet to have a couch surfing experience where we haven't taught, learned and shared something!

What I Can Share with Hosts

If able we like to bring little gifts from our home. We enjoy sharing food, drink, and conversations. Should the food, drink, and conversation become too extreme, we would happily share in the cleaning up afterwards.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Colombia, Costa Rica, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Greece, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands Antilles, Panama, Portugal, Scotland, Spain, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • 7 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see DARRELL-LIBBY’s full profile.

My Groups