Dave Rose's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 93% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Dave’s full profile.

Overview

  • 77 references 71 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Japanese, Nepali
  • 66, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Audio engineer with Digital Music Studio
  • Open University
  • From Oxford, England, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Continue with my life

ABOUT ME

Interesting, humorus (they say), laid back and friendly guy. I enjoy meeting people from every country, and I have a life-time of accommodating students from nearly every country in the world as visitors or in renting rooms short term and long term in my home. My main work in life has been to create, design, build, manage my own Music Recording Studio. I lately re-built the studio as a Digital Restoration suite which gave me something meaningful to work at in retirement.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
I have been lucky to live in Oxford where there are so many academic visitors and therefore I have been fortunate in my accommodation services to students. Now I am in part retirement then I would like to offer something back and this is a great way to do that.
I believe everyone who requests a couch-surf has the right to a reply from the host. Similarly every traveller should be aware that this is not a hotel - that this is the host's home and should be respected , as I am sure I would in your home too.

You need to be aware of the following points before I could accept you -

1/ You must send a request for couch-surfing bed on the official couch-surfing page - ie - not via messaging.

2/ I can only offer one single bed - and that is usually in my own ensuite room which has 2 beds. Therefore I can only accept one single male person per night. That unfortunately means no females, couples or groups.

3/ The maximum number of nights I can offer is 2. If you needed more than that then I would switch you to my helpX programme which entails part-time work for accommodation and meals (length of stay on negotiation).

4/ As an older person - whenever I travel then I would pay for my accommodation - B@B, Air B@B, hotel etc. I think couch-surfing should be reserved for back-packers and student travellers on low budgets.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE
I have not been a traveller with Couch-surf as the travelling times in my life was prior to this web-site and even prior to the internet. But I know what it means to be hiking all day and to find a nice home, hot shower, hotter curry and late-night coffee !!

Interests

Philosophy and the meaning of life. Travel - long haul. Music - since I grew up with the start of popular music I feel privileged to have been a part of every generation of music style that has come and gone.
I am physically fit and like walking and cycling. I also like Photography especially People and Natural landscape. I am interested in interior design and making and repairing things in the home and garden.
is that enough ??

  • design
  • interior design
  • photography
  • dining
  • chocolate
  • walking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • more chocolate

Music, Movies, and Books

English Folk music both traditional and modern. Sci-fi and Science fantasy books and films. As Tolkien lived in Oxford then of course my favourite book is Lord of the Rings.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Received the Nobel Prize for services to international students.

Teach, Learn, Share

Can teach English - learning both Nepali and japanese but give me another 100 years to perfect that.

What I Can Share with Hosts

of course - Household duties - most of my couch-surfers are very happy to offer to help with a few house jobs - if they aren't - there's always a way - haha!!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Norway, Portugal, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Japan, Nepal

Join Couchsurfing to see Dave’s full profile.