David Dimler's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 0% response rate
  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.

Overview

  • 32 references 31 Confirmed & Positive
  • Learning German
  • 46, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Computer Programmer
  • Purdue University, University of MN, St. Thomas Univeristy
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I have a genuine interest in humanity and each individual that is finding their own way on this massive rock hurtling through space and time.

I'm an active man that has many interests and loves to explore different areas and learn new things about the area in which I am traveling.

The people and the cultures are much more interesting to me than the landmarks and tourist attractions.

I truly enjoy the outdoors and want to get outside as much as possible when not at my office job.

The arts, live theater, live music, and festivals with a local flare are always a passion of mine, too.

I have twin 14 year old daughters that travel with me at times as well. They are also actively involved on the hosting side, and love meeting our guests. They are very respectful, adventurous, and fun.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The world is an amazing place! I would love to find interesting people with whom to connect while out exploring, and also those that come and visit my family.

I enjoy traveling the world over, and would like to find more time to that both as an individual and as a means to expose my daughters to the greater good and all that the world cultures have to offer.

I'm a semi-avid cyclist, paddler, motorcyclist, volleyball player, and skier(many different types). I love meeting like-minded individuals and sharing these activities, and many other experiences.

Lastly, and likely most importantly, the CS community has been an excellent venue to teach my girls not to live in the enormous fear bubble that consumes so many inhabitants of this planet, and to open their hearts to strangers/travelers from around the globe.

Interests

  • theater
  • music festivals
  • boating
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • history
  • travel
  • biking
  • cross-country skiing
  • water skiing
  • motorcycling
  • paddling
  • snowmobiling
  • orchestra
  • visiting museums
  • fat bikes
  • canoes

Music, Movies, and Books

I read almost purely non-fiction. Most encompass people's journeys through life and how they have overcome huge obstacles to become their authentic self.

Live music is a great time! Nearly any genre (but not much of a country fan). I'd much rather see a decent band in a small venue than a mega-band at a stadium - yuck!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've skijored behind a horse doing 35 mph on Harrison Ave (main st) in downtown Leadville in front of thousands of fans.

Google "Leadville Skijoring"... it is an amazing time!

I've also sailed the English Channel (or La Manche, or Oceanas Britannicus - so many names). There's so much current going in and coming out of that stretch of water, it is truly astounding... it's like one massive bi-directional river.

Lastly, I've danced the Guaguancó in the birthplace of rumba (Matanzas, Cuba) with the local Yoruba community. Attempting the vacunao was a bit awkward and intimidating at first, but I was readily accepted and made at ease quickly with the tradition.

Teach, Learn, Share

The map on this app is misleading: We've hosted people from China, Russia, Iran, Poland, Mexico, India, Denmark, Columbia, the UK, and several others, yet they've all given temporary US addresses. Not a big deal, just thought I'd throw it out there. ;)

What I Can Share with Hosts

Wit, charm, stories, drinks, good company.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Cuba, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, Guernsey, Haiti, Italy, Jamaica, Jersey, Mexico, Netherlands, Scotland, Spain, Switzerland

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.

My Groups