David Ren's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.


  • 4 references
  • Fluent in Chinese (Simplified), English; learning Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Actuary
  • University of California, Santa Barbara
  • From San Diego, CA, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Heyhey, David here!

Chinese born, Sweden and San Diego raised, currently on sabbatical after working four years in Chicago. Devouring food, creating connections, and sharing stories/experiences are the best things about traveling 😁.

I enjoy playing beach volleyball, guitar, hiking, and exploring new places. Easy going, organized, not a drinker but always sociable. Interested to learn and embrace different cultures that our world has to offer!

Hope to see you soon!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To connect with others around, learn about different cultures, understand a new viewpoint and way of life, and laugh together. Let's create some great memories together 👍


My favorite things to do during down time is play the guitar, get into nature to do some hiking, playing volleyball with friends, discovering the best eats in town, and traveling to new places to widen my view of our beautiful world! 🌎

  • culture
  • guitar
  • piano
  • hiking
  • volleyball
  • archery
  • travel
  • eating
  • snowboard

Music, Movies, and Books

🎶: Into all kinds of music as long as it's danceable (warning: terrible dancer but always down to put in the effort!)

📚: Self-improvement and philosophy books are my favorite! Reading and learning about other people's lives in autobiographies are also interesting 😁 Also keeping up with a couple manga series 🤓

🎬: Been into scary movies lately, please let me know if you have any recommendations!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Took the transmongolian across Russia, through Mongolia, and ending in China. Stopping along the way to make new friends and share unforgettable adventures 🚉

Teach, Learn, Share

Always willing to learn and excited to try new things! Especially about the local culture and way of life.

Before my travels, I volunteered to tutor high-school students in undeserved communities for 3 years. It was nice connecting with my community and relearning all the high school material I forgot about 😂

Currently, I'm practicing my Spanish (can't break the streak in doulingo!). Also looking to improve my Mandarin.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Glad to help with groceries, tidying, and cooking! If anything, I can always share a smile 😁

Happy to share funny stories: the night I was forced to sleep on the beach in Spain and woke up with sand everywhere, a day when followed a random group up the wrong mountain in Mongolia getting lost on the way down, and other serendipitous moments 😂

Chinese/Swedish/American culture: I've been fortunate to live in these three countries growing up and will be happy to share their culture and local recommendations!

Languages and statistics: can help you practice Mandarin or English, think through coding languages (R, SQL, VBA, Python), statistics principles, and Excel tricks (beyond pivot tables!)

Most of all, I'm keen to listen to your stories, advice, jokes, wisdom, or perspectives that you may have! 👂

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Hong Kong, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kosovo, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lithuania, Macao, Macedonia, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Palestine, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Russian Federation, Rwanda, Scotland, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Taiwan, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vatican City State, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, Sweden, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.