David Ryan's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 18 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.


  • 14 references 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese (Simplified), Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • High School Teacher
  • Bachelor Degree
  • From Australia
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

31 years old from Australia. Love travelling and meeting new people.
Speak a little Spanish. Learning Chinese.
Love working out at gym - will go whenever I can.
Don't smoke. Drink on occasion.
Allergic to cats and some nuts.
Straight. Currently single. NOT looking for anything romantic off couchsurfer unless I really get to know someone.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

It's a great community to be part of full of open minded and adventurous people.

Trying to host as much if not more than I surf.


Don't ask me about working out because I'll talk your ear off.

Trying to get back into tennis and I hit a good ball.

Learning salsa and bachata now but let's see if I stick to it.  

  • culture
  • books
  • tv
  • traveling
  • poker
  • music
  • camping
  • sports
  • tennis
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I like pretty much everything.

Vintage Stuff - Tom Sharpe - a genuine laugh out loud book
Freakanomics - Steven D Levitt - introduced me to economics
Sapiens - Yuval Harari - incredible book, love this kind of broad thinking
The Rational Optimist - lots of reasons to be grateful to be alive today

In Bruges
Kiss Kiss Bang Bang
The Simpsons
Rick & Morty
Animal Planet

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Go on a road trip to Uluru in central Australia in late 2015. It took 56 hrs of driving in total but it was worth it for the views!

Travelling solo for the first time in 2015 at the age of 23 through South-East Asia. I had no idea what to expect but it was an eye opening experience and I've been trying to travel as much as I can since.

Recently completed (depending on what defines 'visiting a country') 30 before 30; 30 countries before you turn 30!

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm a Trinity College London, CertTESOL qualified EFL teacher. I haven't taught English in a while but I think I have the right mindset to help people with their language if they ask me.

I teach AP Macroeconomics in my current job. I have reasoned opinions on the topic but a lot of it is dry and theoretical and not applicable to political discussions.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Can promise to be myself and be as respectful and open minded as I can.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Cambodia, China, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Italy, Laos, Macedonia, Montenegro, Netherlands, Philippines, Poland, Serbia, South Korea, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Austria, China, Colombia, Mexico, Qatar

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.

My Groups