David O'Keeffe's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 8 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.

Overview

  • 4 references 1 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French, Irish, Spanish
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2012
  • Student, English Media and Cultural Studies.
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Spend a few years after school much. Since then I’ve been really enjoying life and trying to make the most of it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm hoping that when I use it when I'm away I'll make friends that I can show around when they come to Ireland.

Then also the normal things like getting to know people from different cultures etc

Interests

I live by the seaside so spend a lot of time swimming, kayaking and cycling or just sitting around. I read a lot and go to gigs whenever a good one is on.

Extremely into cooking

Quite interested in bushcraft skills, spoon carving and camping. Hiking and hillwalking...anything outdoors

Cultural Studies
Live music
Sustainable living/Environmentalism
Human rights
Always get excited when I read articles about new discoveries in space
Cooking- Vegetarian, Indian, Vietnamese, Japanese (unfortunately Ireland doesn't have much of a culinary culture)
I love cycling, it's my favourite way to travel, either commuting or going across countries. Trains second.

Want to learn freediving

  • culture
  • writing
  • poetry
  • documentaries
  • concerts
  • festivals
  • human rights
  • seafood
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • vegetarian
  • drinking
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • camping
  • swimming
  • cultural studies
  • history
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: loads, but trying to read more contemporary Irish and non-western authors.
Movies: Too many, mostly independent cinema but no problem watching Hollywood, superhero films or Disney.
Music: Joanna Newsom, Kevin Morby, Boubacar Traore, Fleet Foxes, Nick Cave, Bill Callahan, a lot of Irish traditional

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Cycled across Eastern Europe to raise money for Amnesty International. 4,000km - 10 countries - 40 days

Got 8 friends to hike up to a river with a projector, set up a screen between the trees and watched concerts while getting drunk and dancing

Teach, Learn, Share

Stories and cooking

Unfortunately I'm tone deaf and haven't been able to learn any instruments.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Have a lot of strange and funny stories (especially about Irish life)

Generally good company, always up for any active adventures

Pretty content person, and I'm told easy to be around.

Definitely can help with any cooking or eating.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, China, Colombia, Cuba, Czech Republic, Ecuador, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mexico, Morocco, Myanmar, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bolivia, Ireland, South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see David’s full profile.